Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

accepting assistance

P
Anthony Pelletier
Nationality: United States
In a recent Lido 14 National Regatta, I was driving a chase boat. A competitor capsized near the windward mark. Under the existing conditions, they were not necessarily in any danger. I stayed close to see they required assistance. The team did call for assistance, which I provided. They decided to retire for the day and I towed them in.

My question involves my decision to wait. My assumption was that rendering help would require the team to retire from the race. I wanted to give them the opportunity to self rescue and stay in the race.
That's certainly how we operate in High-school sailing. After the regatta, the PRO stated that I could have provided assistance and the boat could have continued because they were "in danger." They could continue as long as they didn't gain any advantage from the assistance.
In the following weeks, I have read up on it a bit and cannot find anything that directly supports his assertion. Perhaps I've missed an obvious source.
Rule 41 says that assistance can be given in the case of injury, illness or danger. It makes not statement about whether the boat can then continue or any reference to gaining an advantage.
US Sailing prescription 2024-2 makes clear that the sailor need not "prove" that injury/illness or danger exists. If assistance is requested, it should provided. 
Importantly, it concludes with the phrase:
"However, a boat seeking and receiving help when not ill, injured or in danger breaks rule 41(a) and should retire from the race.”
Again, there is no mention of gaining advantage.

Let's assume the boat that capsized was near the front of the fleet. They call for and receive assistance. If there really was no danger, the US Sailing prescription says they should retire. But perhaps a danger did exist while they were in the water but is no longer present once they back in the boat (I don't know--sharks or crocodiles in the water). They sail on and finish mid fleet. 
It seems to me that a boat finishing behind them has a case for redress at least. Even if the danger criterion is met, one could argue that the actions of the RC gave an advantage to the boat that had capsized in that it recovered more quickly than it would have. 

I'd be happy if someone pointed out some obvious thing I've missed. But at this point, I think the way we handle it at HS regatta makes sense. If you can self rescue and continue, good on you. If you request help, you get it, but retire from the race. 
I've even had a team capsize near the finish and drift across the line in second place (sailors were still "in contact" with the boat and there is no requirement that the boat be upright when it finishes). 
So, do I have it wrong?

-Tony





Created: Sun 17:51

Comments

Format:
Calum Polwart
I've usually seen SI amendments that specifically permit assistance.

I usually expect this to be part of the safety boat briefing as to at what stage they *should* intervene, what the consequence for the sailor is etc. 

Our default stance is that sailors should be put back on boats if separated.  I guess they become endangered if separated.  I'm not sure I've seen that happen and benefit a near the front of the pack sailor. 

I've once seen a boat drift fast down wind with a tide. The safety boat were rushing to catch it. You might argue the sailor was advantaged by being rushed to it... They safety boat then spent a "fair" (pun entirely intended) amount of time getting the boat up, bailed and sorted out... Resulting in no real advantage.

But you can argue that a last place is better than a retirement/DNF. So any assistance is better than the guy who tried to fix it himself and times out. 
Created: Sun 18:58
Jim Champ
Here's my understanding. 
This is something that has changed fairly recently. A boat is (of course) only required to retire if she has broken a rule. Under the current rules outside help for a person considered in danger doesn't break a rule, so there is no need for RRS41 to state that the boat may continue. 
Redress is very strictly limited, and really only available if another party has broken a rule or RC acted improperly. It's quite often the case that one may be disadvantaged through no fault of one's own and be ineligible for redress. In this case helping a person in danger is the very opposite of an improper action! 
Created: Sun 19:06
Clark Chapin
US Sailing clarified this (within the USA) via Appeal 127 last year:
"Question 1: If a boat that is racing receives outside help for a crew member who is in danger, has the boat broken rule 41?
Answer 1: No. Rule 41(a) specifically permits a boat to receive outside help from any outside source for a crew member who is ill, injured or in danger. Furthermore, rule 1.1 requires a boat, competitor
or support person to give all possible help to any person or vessel in danger. If a boat that is racing receives outside help for a crew member who is in danger, she does not break rule 41 and she may continue racing.

Question 2: Is there a special meaning of the phrase “in danger” when used in rule 1.1, rule 41(a), and in other rules in The Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS)?
Answer 2: No. The phrase “in danger” is not defined in the RRS. The Terminology section of the Introduction to the RRS states that “other words and terms are used in the sense ordinarily understood in nautical or general use.” As understood in general use, the phrase “in danger” means: “the possibility of something happening that may injure, harm or kill somebody.”

Question 3: Does the fact that a person is in the water, by itself, mean that the person is “in danger?”
Answer 3: When people are in the water, the possibility of injury, harm or death exists. Therefore, it should be considered that they are “in danger” until it is obvious that they are not. There are many reasons a person in the water may be in danger, including injury, fatigue, hypothermia, preexisting health conditions, physical disabilities, being tangled in the rigging, being separated from the boat, being in water where there are sharks, and other reasons.
Case 20 states “A boat in a position to help another that may be in danger is required by rule 1.1 to do so.” A boat, competitor or support person will likely have no knowledge as to the circumstances that led to a person being in the water, or the condition of the person, until they are close by and have had the chance to assess the situation, which will, if practicable, usually include discussing the situation with the person.

Assumed Facts for Question 4: A boat in a race has capsized and at least one of the crew is in the water. A support boat lifts the mast of the capsized boat and holds the boat while the crew climbs back aboard. The boat continues in the race.
Question 4: Has the racing boat broken rule 41?
Answer 4: It depends. Rule 41(a) permits a boat to receive help from any source if a crew member is “in danger.” If any of the crew were “in danger” (see Answer 2), and if they would remain in danger until the boat is righted and the crew is back on board, then the boat has not broken rule 41(a). Furthermore, if the crew is unable to right the boat without outside help, then the crew is “in danger” and the boat has not broken rule 41(a)."
Created: Sun 19:46
John Christman
Nationality: United States
This question is addressed in US Appeal 127.  This changed what was my, and apparently your, understanding about giving assistance.  To some extent, I think it is overly broad and gives the competitor an expectation that they will get help instead of self-reliance. It is probably a good thing tor the RC to review with the competitors at the first meeting to set expectations of what help will be given.

Appeal 127.pdf 512 KB
Created: Sun 19:51
P
Michael Butterfield
I always consider a capsized boat is in danger and may receive assistance. 
As long as the boat and crew remain in the same area. I believe it used to have to be reported and a penalty considered but this is not in the rule now. 
This makes sense as we do not want our safety fleet waiting by one boat in case there is a problem.. We need the problem resolving to free the safety boat for the next incident. 
Created: Sun 20:48
Jim Champ
Looking through a 1989 rulebook, if I read it correctly outside assistance used to be limited to crew members sick or injured, but even then it seems that a third party could board a boat to give assistance, and the boat could even continue in the race if the sick/injured party was removed. Its a little less draconian than I recall.
Created: Sun 21:15
Mark Townsend
Nationality: United Kingdom
A person in the water should always be considered in danger. Nothing good is going to happen if you start considering water temperature, water depth, wave height, proximity to shipping channels or other factors to determine if a person in the water is in danger.


Created: Yesterday 00:20
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Right up until 2009 the RRS always allowed a boat to receive help if she or her crew were in danger or peril (and, Jim, that included the 1989 RRS).

In the 2009 RRS this exception was deleted in accordance with Submission 07-202.  If anybody has a copy of that old submission, I'd love to see it.

In 2013, very rightly, that exception was put back into RRS 41. 

 USA Appeal US127 describes the process:

Explanation of rule  41(a).
  • Note: Rule  41 (Outside Help) has been significantly changed three times since the 2005–2008 edition of The Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS). Up through the 2005–2008 edition of the RRS, a boat was permitted to receive outside help for a crew member who was in danger. Under the rules in the 2009–2012 edition of the RRS, if a boat received help for a crew member who was in danger, she broke a rule. In the 2013–2016 and 2017–2020 editions of the RRS, a boat was permitted to receive help for a crew member who was in danger, but the last sentence in rule 41 said the boat could be protested and penalized if she gained a significant advantage by the help she received. In the 2021–2024 edition of the RRS, the last sentence in rule 41 was deleted, with the result that a boat cannot be penalized if she receives help for a crew member who was in danger. 

I think that, since 2009, there have been too many changes for too many different reasons to make historical analysis of the changes worth while.

USA Appeal US127 was published in January 2024 and said, among other things

  • When people are in the water, the possibility of injury, harm or death exists. Therefore, it should be considered that they are “in danger” until it is obvious that they are not.

 Q&A 2024-002 was published in May 2024 and said
 
Being separated from a boat is not inherently dangerous, but may be when combined with other factors like:
  • level of experience and age of the sailor,
  • weather conditions (water temperature, sea state, visibility, etc.)
  • speed of the other boats around,
  • distance from the boat,
  • presence of injuries,
  • dangerous wildlife,
  • etc.
 
I think it is fairly obvious that Q&A 2024-002 was issued in response to US Appeal 127 and the Q&A panel disagreed with the sweeping statement in USA Appeal 127.

Turning to Anthony's specific OP scenario.
  •  A competitor capsized near the windward mark. Under the existing conditions, they were not necessarily in any danger. 
That is to say, in terms of US Appeal 127, to Anthony, it was obvious that they were not in danger.

Another boat nearby would have had no obligation to give help under RRS 1.

Until requested to do so, Anthony was quite right not to give help to the boat unless asked.

Once they asked for help, Anthony, was, again, quite right in giving it.

If they had thought that while capsized they were in danger, and, once righted, with Anthony's help, they had continued to race, any other boat that thought that they had broken a rule could have protested them, and, in a protest hearing, the protest committee would have to conclude (hopefully considering all the criteria in Q&A 2024-002) whether they were in danger or not.

There is now absolutely no consideration about whether the boat gained any advantage or not.  That concept was very deliberately removed from RRS 41 in 2021.

If another boat had requested redress, no redress should be given.

The Q&A demonstrates that the action of the race committee in giving help that has been asked for is absolutely a proper action.

If the boat behind them is aggreived they can protest. If they don't protest they shouldn't expect race officials to do their dirty work for them.

The grounds of the protest is simply breach of RRS 41.
Created: Yesterday 00:33
P
Anthony Pelletier
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 18294 - John Allan
Thanks to all for the historical input. I think John sums things up well. The "gains advantage" language has been in and out and is currently out. Neither my PRO nor I were as current as we could have been. 
The possibility of protest from another racer relies on the last sentence of US Sailing 2024-02. Basically, if you were not really in any danger and receive help, you broke rule 41 and should retire from the race. If you don't, another racer could protest you. I think it's interesting that they use the word "should." 
One comment on background: I work largely in Mission Bay in San Diego and capsizing a dinghy there would rarely be considered dangerous. That may explain my predilection to wait nearby to provide assistance as needed. 



Created: Yesterday 15:53
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Mark, you're entitled to your opinion, but the Q&A Panel has said exactly the opposite.
Created: Yesterday 00:33
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 18295 - John Allan
I read Mark's note as "don't wait around to consider water temperature, water depth, wave height, proximity to shipping channels or other factors to determine if a person in the water is in danger."

Basically, the bolded from Appeal 127 as quoted above (and emphasized by me):
Question 3: Does the fact that a person is in the water, by itself, mean that the person is “in danger?”
Answer 3: When people are in the water, the possibility of injury, harm or death exists. Therefore, it should be considered that they are “in danger” until it is obvious that they are not. There are many reasons a person in the water may be in danger, including injury, fatigue, hypothermia, preexisting health conditions, physical disabilities, being tangled in the rigging, being separated from the boat, being in water where there are sharks, and other reasons. 
Created: Yesterday 16:48
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
PS I think the writers of USA Appeal US127 have mixed up good advice to race management teams (and perhaps some risk averse quasi legal advice) with proper interpretation of the RRS for use by protest committees.
Created: Yesterday 02:15
Frank Brinkers
In Germany, there is an official national policy for protest committees, the DSV Richtlinien für das Protestkomitee (February 2019), which extends the World Sailing Protest Committee Guidelines (2025) in some areas.

    "2.3. Im Sinne von WR 41(a) befindet sich eine Person im Wasser in Gefahr und soll bei der Rückkehr an Bord unterstützt werden."
    Translation: "2.3 In accordance with RRS 41(a), a person in the water is in danger and should be assisted in returning to the boat."


The general advice taught to all judges is:
  • A person in the water who has lost contact with the boat should be assisted in reestablishing contact with the boat. Not less, not more: As soon as the person is in contact with its boat again, the danger normally is gone, if there is no other reason for another danger. 
  • This could mean safeguarding the person (e.g., getting them into the safety vessel if it is cold or the person would be getting too cold in the water) and waiting for the boat to return to its crew.
  • It can also mean bringing the person to the boat, especially if the boat cannot be righted without the missing person or if the safety vessel is needed elsewhere immediately. If the other boats have passed by while the one capzised boat is rightening, there would hardly be a competitive advantage any more to critizise, even if that concept is no part of RRS 41 any more. 
  • This could also mean just driving near the swimmer to ensure that they are not in danger of getting caught under other, perhaps very fast, racing boats in the area.
  • Any assistance beyond establishing contact with the boat would normally violate RRS 41(a). Thus, helping detangle boats or sails, or right a boat does not mean to get the crew out of danger any more. Thus that would be too much and lead to retiring (or DSQ).


The general idea behind all of this is:
If touching a person would lead to a DSQ based on RRS 41(a), no one would ask for help, even if it were sensible and necessary. This avoidance by sailors could put them in real danger.

Nevertheless, we still have to consider the Basic Principles: If six boats capzise in a gust, you count heads and wait who needs your help the deerest. The one boat (of the six) receiving help should usually not be the first one at the next mark just because it was lucky enough to receive help... 

Fortunately, we don't have crocodiles in our waters, thus we do not consider all capzised boats in danger if there is no special situation leading to a special danger. 

Perhaps these examples of national guidelines might help you to negotiate solutions for your country. 

Kind regards, 
Frank 
Created: Yesterday 15:19
P
Michael Butterfield
For me in the uk if they are in the water they are in danger.
You have to decide for your own area. 
Created: Yesterday 18:40
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
It's very interesting to read this thread and see this from so many people. I've just had such a different experience. Having sailed and coached on Massachusetts' South Coast for 30+ years, I have very rarely considered capsized dinghy's (Opti's C420's, V15s, etc.) to be in any danger. The water is warm and relatively shallow. I even knew a couple of opti sailors racing 420's for the first time who's plan was to capsize at the wing mark and gybe the pole (though I guess they didn't go swimming). They won every race and that skipper has been to 5 Olympics. And I've sailed around the world and around the country without having that general notion shaken from my head.

But I get that's not always the case, and especially as boats get bigger, or water gets colder. When we sail in the winter, we feel differently of course! And there are scary things that have happened since my coaching days to kids who capsized in otherwise routine and "comfortable" conditions that have changed the equipment and emergency procedures to account for entanglement. This is a good wake-up call to those of us on the water, but also to those of us who have out-dated or sheltered experiences.
Created: Yesterday 19:42
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Considering the removal of the 'not gaining advantage' consideration from RRS 41.

That comes back in via  RRS 48.2.

If a person is separated from the boat, and in danger, help to that person does not break RRS 41, but if the boat 'resumes sailing the boat to the next mark' after the person leaves the boat, the boat breaks RRS 48.2.

Also, if a person separated from a boat is in danger and the boat does not give al possible help, that is, by if possible, sailing towards the person to recover them, the boat breaks  RRS 1.1 .
Created: Yesterday 23:12
P
Michael Butterfield
Yes this is all very well but where does it take us.
Clearly i believe the rescued crew needs to be placed on the boat in the vavinity of there they fell off it. 

I still however believe they can have asistance to right the boat, after capsize. 

Yes wwe all have obligations under rule one to assist crew in the water. 

The question is with the two rules you quote, who is likley to protest?  As the pass do they have to hail protest or it is invalid? 

Some may be academic breaches but how often could the successful y come to the room? 
Created: Today 18:56
Calum Polwart
When I am coming to you protest room, I'm going to tell you it seems unfathomable that I needed to shout protest.

I was boat number 30, the guy who capsized was but number 3. 

You assist him and he starts sailing again, in 24th place. Too far ahead for my call of protest to be heard by anyone. My protest may say without the assistance, he might have self recovered and come 30th, and me 29th. And so I gave been disadvantaged?

Or let's assume I am boat number 2 (miracles can happen!) and he was number 3. We both go over in the same gust.  There is only one RIB and he is nearer #3 so goes to him first. Helps him up and he sails off. Now he comes to me, and but I have self recovered by now and also sail off.. but I get last place and #3 beats me...  Who do I protest to on the water?  The RIB? Any RIB? The RC? Or the sailor who is 500m ahead of me thanks to the advantage of RIB assistance...

Would I be protesting (saying the other guy should have retired), or asking for redress(saying the actions of the RC have disadvantaged me?).


Created: Today 19:15
P
Michael Butterfield
If you were within hailing distance you have to hail protest.
If not in hailing distance you have to inform the other boat at the first reasonable opportunity.
If you do not the protest is invalid.  The disadvantage is not a jury problem.
I belive helping a capsized boat is allowed si no act or ommission and no redress.
Also there is an interpretation of the current rules that says that if you were not involved in the incident but saw it your protest is currently invalid. This may be clarified or changed by ws.
Created: Today 19:39
Calum Polwart
The act or omission is helping #3 before #2

I might not even know the other sailor doesn't retire in until I'm ashore.

If no-one can protest if they weren't directly involved, who can protest someone using a motor (or even being towed by a RIB) if they weren't directly involved other than watching the boat powering off into the distance?   If my result is lower down the table as a result, maybe I am involved 

Created: Today 20:25
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more