Some Questions about Rule 18
- National Judge
- National Umpire
Created: 18-Dec-21 19:25
The situation is the following:
- Yellow enters the zone clear ahead of Blue, but about one boat length away from the mark. The direction to the next mark is a reach to the finish line. Blue sails between Yellow and the mark
When does mark- room ends for Yellow? Is it at position 3?
If mark room for Yellow ends at position 3 then according to RRS 18.2(d), rules 18.2(b) and 18.2(c) ceases to apply at that moment.
But since both boats are required to leave the on the same side and both of them are in the zone Rule 18 still apply?
Does RRS 18.2(a) apply from that moment on and because Blue is overlapped inside Yellow she gets mark room?