Translation missing: en.posts.shared.post_not_found

Powered by
WIND


Recent Posts

Recent Comments

  • Stewart, I'm sure you've snatched many a pebble from a hand. 

    Again, I understand the connection you are making .. I'm just suggesting that, when explaining it to others, you are better off not combining them.

    Actually, Case 75 is a good example why ...

    In Case 75, the ROW boat is also entitled to MR.  In the discussion it is stated that ... 

    "When S gybed just after position 2, she had not sailed farther from the mark than needed to sail her proper course. Indeed, in the absence of P (the boat "referred to" in the definition Proper Course), S's proper course might well have been to sail even farther from the mark and higher than she did, so as to make a smoother, faster rounding and to avoid interference with her wind by being backwinded or blanketed by other boats ahead, and to be far enough upwind after leaving the mark astern that she could tack without breaking rule 13. "

    However, if we change the scenario such that both boats are on the same tack, and inside is not ROW and will not have to gybe ... 18.4 does not come into play ... and the inside KC boat will not get the extra space as described above in the Case 75 quote. 

    In that scenario, inside could be sailing inside her PC but be outside of her MR. 
    Today 12:02
  • Rule 18.3 was changed in the 2024-28 book'  The first sentence now reads;

    "If a boat passes HTW from port to starboard tack in the zone of a Mark to be left to port, rule 18.2 does not apply between her and another boat ON STARBOARD TACK that is fetching the Mark.".

    In the subject scenario, when Yellow passed HTW in the zone, Blue was not on Starboard tack, so rule 18.2 was not switched off, and Yellow was still entitled to Mark-Room. When Blue then passed HTW the other boat Yellow is was on Starboard tack so 18.2 was switched off again.




    Today 07:24
  • CASE 108 is so cool too !!
    Tue 22:54
  • I do not understand alll the emphasis in beat to windward.
    It is obviouswhen this applies, though the caseconfuses matters on overstanding.

    Match racing, owing to the type of penalty has its own rules..

    For the overstanding just look at 18.1(a)2

    This was designed for this, opposite tacks, with one having a proper course to tack.

    Do we need to look further?
  • Sue, The position of the marks may be adjusted slightly for small shifts in the mean wind (+/-5 degrees) without signaling a change of course. Any adjustments will be made before the first boat is on the leg to the adjusted mark. This changes RRS 33.

    How does this sit with Race Management Policies 12.1(a)

    With a persistent wind shift of 10° or less the course will not be changed unless necessary to
    adjust for current or to provide a true downwind leg.


    Mon 21:24

Forums Leader Board

This Month

1 Christian Hartmann 2.5K
2 John Allan 2.05K
3 Catalan Benaros 1.4K
4 Niko Kotsatos 1.25K
5 Craig Priniski 1.2K
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more