Facts, conclusions and rules that apply:
- Two boats approaching the finishing line and are at the zone of finish’s mark.
- Green is sailing her proper course (close-hauled) on starboard.
- Red is sailing her proper course (below close-hauled) on port.
- Case 132 by CaseBook WS says: “A boat is ‘on a beat to windward’ when the course she would sail to finish as soon as possible in the absence of all other boats is a close-hauled course or above” so the Red boat doesn’t sailing a beat to windward so the rule 18.1(a) doesn’t apply.
- Rule 18.1(b) also doesn’t apply because none of the boats need to tack for sailing proper course at the mark.
- Since the boats is in the zone and articles (a, b, c, d) of rule 18.1 does not apply so the rule 18 is apply.
- And since the rule 18 is apply so the boats are overlapped as neither is clear astern.
- As the boats are overlapped so the rule 18.2 is apply and Green shall give the inside boat (Red) mark-room. And Red shall be exonerated by the rule 21 if she broken the rule 10