Case 132
Rule 18.1(a), Mark-Room: When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 42.3(c), Propulsion: Exceptions
Interpretation of the phrase 'on a beat to windward.'
Question 1
Rule 18.1(a) states that rule 18 does not apply between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward. For the purpose of rule 18.1(a), when are boats 'on a beat to windward'?
Answer 1
For the purpose of rule 18.1(a) which is only needed in multi-boat situations when at least one boat is in the zone, two boats on opposite tacks are considered to be ‘on a beat to windward’
  1. when the proper course for each of them is close-hauled or above, or
  2. when one or both of them have overstood the close-hauled layline to the mark and are sailing below close-hauled.
Consider the following four situations, each involving boats on opposite tacks in the zone of a mark to be left to port. The mark could be a windward mark, a finishing mark at the port end of a finishing line, a windward gate mark, or a limit mark that is not a rounding mark. In each of these situations, the boats shown are ‘on opposite tacks on a beat to windward’ and, therefore, rule 18 does not apply between them.
Question 2
Rule 42.3(c) states that a single pull on any sail when surfing or planing is possible is permitted except on a beat to windward. For the purpose of rule 42.3(c), when is a boat 'on a beat to windward'?
Answer 2
Rule 42 addresses each boat in a race individually. For the purpose of rule 42.3(c), a boat is ‘on a beat to windward’ provided that, in the absence of all other boats, the course she would sail to sail the course and finish as soon as possible is close-hauled or above.