Sportsmanship and the Rules
Rule 29.1, Recalls: Individual Recall
Rule 62.1(a), Redress
Rule 64.2, Decisions: Decisions on Redress
A hail is not the “sound signal” required when flag X is displayed. Answers to questions arising from requests for redress after a procedural error by the race committee.
Rule 61.1(a), Protest Requirements: Informing the Protestee
Discussion of the word “flag“.
Rule 2, Fair Sailing
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
When, by deliberate action, L's crew reaches out and touches W, which action could have no other intention than to cause W to break rule 11, then L breaks rule 2.
Rule 2, Fair Sailing
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
There is no rule that dictates how the helmsman or crew of a leeward boat must sit; contact with a windward boat does not break rule 2 unless the helmsman's or crew's position is deliberately misused.
Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule 14, Avoiding Contact
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 18.2(b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
Rule 18.4, Mark-Room: Gybing
When rule 18 applies, the rules of Sections A and B apply as well. When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark, she is entitled to sail her proper course until she gybes. A starboard-tack boat that changes course does not break rule 16.1 if she gives a port-tack boat adequate space to keep clear and the port-tack boat fails to take advantage of it promptly.
Withdrawn for Revision
Definitions, Keep Clear
Rule 12, On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped
Rule 14, Avoiding Contact
Rule 31, Touching a Mark
Contact with a mark by a boat's equipment constitutes touching it. A boat obligated to keep clear does not break a rule when touched by a right-of-way boat's equipment that moves unexpectedly out of normal position.
Rule 2, Fair Sailing
Rule 41, Outside Help
Rule 69.1(a), Misconduct: Obligation not to Commit Misconduct; Resolution
In a fleet race either for one-design boats or for boats racing under a handicap or rating system, a boat may use tactics that clearly interfere with and hinder another boat's progress in the race, provided that, if she is protested under rule 2 for doing so, the protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance of her tactics benefiting her final ranking in the event. However, she breaks rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a), if while using those tactics she intentionally breaks a rule.
Rule 29.1, Recalls: Individual Recall
When a boat has no reason to know that she crossed the starting line early and the race committee fails to promptly signal “Individual recall” and scores her OCS, this is an error that significantly worsens the boat's score through no fault of her own, and therefore entitles her to redress.
Rule 60, Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress or Rule 69 Action
Rule 61.2(b), Protest Requirements: Protest Contents
Rule 62.1(a), Redress
Rule A5, Scores Determined by the Race Committee
A hearing of a protest or a request for redress must be limited to the alleged incident, action or omission. Although a boat may be scored DNF if she does not finish according to that term's definition, she may not be scored DNF for failing to sail the course correctly.
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more