If the first of two boats to reach the zone is clear astern when she reaches it and if later the boats are overlapped when the other boat reaches the zone, rule 18.2(a), and not rule 18.2(b), applies. Rule 18.2(a) applies only while boats are overlapped and at least one of them is in the zone.
Rule <%= rule_link(19.2) %>(a), Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving Room at an Obstruction
Rule <%= rule_link(20) %>, Room to Tack at an Obstruction
Rule <%= rule_link(64.1) %>(a), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
A leeward port-tack boat, hailing for room to tack when faced with an oncoming starboard-tack boat, an obstruction, is not required to anticipate that the windward boat will fail to comply with her obligation to tack promptly or otherwise provide room.
A boat that is anchored during a race is still racing. A boat does not break rule 42.1 or rule 45 if, while pulling in her anchor line to recover the anchor, she returns to her position at the time the anchor was lowered. However, if pulling in the anchor line clearly propels her to a different position, she breaks those rules.
When, after having been clear astern, a boat becomes overlapped to leeward within two of her hull lengths of the other boat, the windward boat must keep clear, but the leeward boat must initially give the windward boat room to keep clear and must not sail above her proper course. The proper course of the windward boat is not relevant.
Repeated helm movements to position a boat to gain speed on each of a series of waves generated by a passing vessel are not sculling unless they are forceful, and the increase in speed is the result of a permitted use of the water to increase speed.
If a boat hails for room to tack when she is neither approaching an obstruction nor sailing close-hauled or above, she breaks rule 20.1. The hailed boat is required to respond even if the hail breaks rule 20.1.