Redress may only be given if first the competitor could not reasonably have avoided the incident that caused the tangle, and second the competitor's score has been made significantly worse through no fault of his own.
Redress may then be granted to any kind of tangle outlined [in the Q&A
], but not for contact without damage as outlined below.
Any kind of contact between kites that which does not qualify under the definition of tangle. This includes "bumping" of kites, catching the lines of another kite with the kite tip etc. Even if both kites capsize (kites in the water) as a result of the contact, this is not a tangle (unless tangled as a result of above action).
Note: if both kites remain in the air and are quickly separated, this is not considered a tangle even if there is a slight wrap-around.
If, prior to the incident, there is clear risk of an incident that could cause a tangle that a prudent competitor would anticipate
but the competitor fails to do so, or if a competitor through his own actions created a situation that carries the clear risk of an incident that could cause a tangle, then he will be ineligible for redress.
Examples of where redress would not be given include:
- remaining very close to another kiteboard when there has been the opportunity to increase the separation;
- looping or otherwise moving the kite when sailing offwind close to another kiteboard.
- sailing into a gap between two kiteboards that are keeping clear of each other, when the windward kiteboard will then have to move his kite or alter course to continue to keep clear.
- not finishing the race when able to do so.
In all redress requests, it is the competitor's responsibility to show that his score has been, through no fault of his own, made significantly worse.
Note: Competitors who may be looking for "trouble", e.g. to get tangled because they have a bad start or a bad race, and hope to get a better place through an average score, may be subject to a rule 2 or rule 69 hearing (fair sailing or gross misconduct).