Happy New Year Everyone! What better way to start-off 2021 but with a post about zombies, right? :-)
"Zombies" are creatures that seemingly occupy their own realm. This thread hopes to explore a seemingly similar group .. those who exist between the entered and non-entered by virtue of RRS 76.1
's "entry of a boat".. (thus the playful 'zombie' reference) :-).
Reference Materials (emphasis added .. 2021 quad):
Rule 75 states that, "To enter an event, a boat shall comply with the requirements of the organizing authority of the event."
Rule 76.1 states that, "The organizing authority or the race committee may reject or cancel the entry of a boat or exclude a competitor, subject to rule 76.3, provided it does so before the start of the first race and states the reason for doing so"
Cases: 34, 65, 68, 78, Q&A 2018-016
1a) The NOR for a 2-day regatta defines 3 entry-requirements and states they "... shall be completed by each boat before the start of race 1". There are no impediments.
The requirements are:
i) Online Registration
ii) Entry Fee Payment
iii) Sail Declaration
1b) Boat 'Forgetful' complies only with #1 (online registration), but not #2 or #3.
1c) Boat 'Obedient' complies with all NOR requirements.
1d) A list of boats with incomplete requirements, listing Forgetful, is posted on the Official Notice Board at noon the day prior to racing.
1e) Both Forgetful and Obedient acknowledge that they read the list on the ONB.
1f) Day 1, both Obedient and Forgetful start and finish all 3 races.
- Q1) Does Forgetful have an entry in the event that the RC/OA must act upon to reject/cancel under RRS 76.1? ... or does Forgetful NOT have an entry automatically based upon RRS 75?
- Q2) What if the OA/RC does not do Fact 1d above? Does it matter with regards to the entry-status of Forgetful?
- Q3) May/Should/Shall the RC list Forgetful in the results?
- Q4) If "yes" to Q3 above, how should Forgetful be represented/scored?
Facts 2: (includes Facts 1)
2) Race 1, Obedient breaks rule 10 vs Forgetful. Forgetful does not break a rule of Part 2 or RRS 31 during the incident and validly protests Obedient. Obedient does not take a penalty and is not exonerated.
- Q5) How should the PC proceed and what is the scoring outcome/listing for both boats?
Facts 3: (includes Facts 1)
3) Race 3, Forgetful breaks rule 18 vs Obedient, forcing Obedient to miss the leeward mark to avoid contact with Forgetful. Obedient doubles-back and correctly rounds the mark. While correcting, 6 boats pass Obedient. Obedient does not break a rule and validly protests Forgetful. Forgetful does not take a penalty and is not exonerated.
In the filing, Obedient also requests redress claiming that Forgetful broke Rule 2 by racing in an event that Forgetful knew she was either not entered in or was disqualified from. Obedient argues that Forgetful knowingly (facts 1d & 1e) and intentionally broke RRS 75 and the event's entry NOR's (which are rules), and that by racing and interfering with a boat that was properly entered and racing, Forgetful 's actions were unsportsmanlike.
- Q6) How should the PC proceed and what is the scoring outcome/listing for both boats in the protest hearing? What about the request for redress?