A friend sent me the above hypothetical downwind finish (I understand the finish line is a bit off) scenario and asked me which rules apply. I’m not absolutely sure. A search of the cases and appeals didn’t help me. I have reviewed this RRS post https://www.racingrulesofsailing.org/posts/388-mark-room-at-the-finish
, but it is at a windward finish and want to present the leeward finish. Position 2 is where I am not sure.
Green established the overlap from clear astern.
At position 1 Red is ROW, rule 11.
At position 2 Red is ROW rule 11, do any other rules apply?
At position 2 which is the inside boat?
At position 2 may Red continue beyond her proper course?
At position 2 Green is not fetching the mark. Must she be fetching to be entitled mark-room?
At position 2 Green must gybe, if she is entitled mark-room, does mark-room include room to gybe? 18.4 doesn’t seem to apply.
At position 3 Red and Green gybe, Green is ROW and entitled to mark-room.
At position 4 Red does not give Green mark-room, Green luffs and manages to avoid hitting the finish mark. Red breaks rule 18.2(a).