Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Mark Room at the Finish
Nationality: United States of America
International Race Officer
Two boats, Yellow and Blue, close-hauled on port tack, approached the starboard end of the finish line. Neither boat is fetching the Mark. Yellow was clear ahead of Blue when she reached the Zone. Blue became overlapped to windward of Yellow inside the Zone. The wind shifted left 15 degrees. Yellow and Blue tacked simultaneously in the Zone with Yellow becoming overlapped to windward of Blue. Blue finished ahead of Yellow about ¼ of the way down the finish line from the starboard end finish boat.
1) At position 1 does Yellow have Mark-Room? 2) Is Blue required to tack to give Yellow Mark-Room? 3) Does either boat break a rule?
Created: 19-Sep-30 04:45
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual