Huge discussion yesterday with a friend of mine, about the obligation by the RC to display flag L when posting a notice to competitors, in a situation in which SI state nothing about it.
It seems that my argumentation "there is no rule requiring the display of flag L" is not sufficient (it does look sufficient to me!)
My friend's rebuttal is that the flag is, indeed, listed among the "Race Signals", and that the "Race Signals" are rules, by definition. So the rule does exist, and it must be enforced at all times.
My friend is much more experienced than me (by far !), so I didn't dare insisting... still, I'm not convinced.
Later yesterday evening I found a 2018 Q&A on this topic, but that call was valid only till July this year... oh, bother!
Is there any more definitive word about the obligation (or not) by the RC to fly the flag L when posting a notice to competitors? If yes, what does it state?
Thank you in advance