Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

Match race Change to rule 28 case

P
Anthony Pelletier
Nationality: United States
In a recent match race regatta, an interesting (I think) question came up. 
In the NOR, there was a provision that states:
"When a boat in a match fails to sail the course, she will be disqualified without a hearing and scored zero points unless both boats in the match have sailed the same course, in which case the boats will be scored as if they had sailed the course."

That language is not unusual.
Often there are two different windward marks in the water of different colors. A change mark (Green or "G") that may have been put in place for the next pair to start the upwind while the original mark (Red or "R") is still in use by the pair currently on the leg. Appropriate signals are made at the start or leeward mark to tell the boats which mark they are rounding, of course. But teams sometimes miss the change.

When our pair is supposed to round mark G, mark R is not a mark of the course for them nor is it an obstruction.
But if both boats round the wrong mark, R, the race is to be scored as if they had sailed the course--that is, "as if" it is a mark of the course. 
The question is, as an umpire, do we treat the mark as if it is a mark of the course on the water for their rounding? Most importantly, does rule 18 apply?
(For those who don't do much match racing, marks are rounded to S  and rule 18 does apply to boats on opposite tacks on a beat. Also, a starhoard inside boat does have to tack if her proper course requires it). 

I was working with an International Umpire and we discussed it quite a bit on the tow in. It was then discussed in debrief with two National Umpires.
One NU said she would umpire it as though they are rounding a mark of the course. As soon as it became obvious that they were both treating it as a mark and knowing that it would be scored as such, she would apply rule 18.

The IU (and I) thought that the boats cannot make it a mark of the course by their mistaken action. The scoring decision is an after-the-fact designation. As such it does not make R a mark of the course either. He would call it without applying rule 18.

Things could be really complicated if the incorrect mark is left-most and one (or both) of the boats then goes on to round the correct mark (perhaps realizing their mistake). Obviously I would apply 18 to the correct mark. But now its application to the incorrect rounding could set up some really messy redress issues. I don't even really want to start cataloging the various scenarios. In most of them, I would rather explain to the competitors later that they were not entitled to mark room at that "mark" than explain why I gave an inside boat an advantage to which they were not entitled. 

Since two highly experienced umpires couldn't agree, I thought it would be an interesting one to put out here. Again, for those who don't do match racing, make sure you look at appendix C for the rules that would apply. 



Created: Yesterday 19:13

Comments

Format:
Rick Myers
Nationality: United States
I have always treated it as the correct mark if both competitors act as if that is the case.  Fortunately, it is typical that this situation happens when the boats are not close.  I’m not sure why that is. 
Created: Yesterday 19:46
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Pragmatically speaking a situation where the umpires are applying different rules to the competitors feels like a recipe for tears.

Wouldn't it be unusual for a mark to be so small as to not qualify as an obstruction, or am I missing something?
Created: Yesterday 20:10
P
Anthony Pelletier
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19224 - Jim Champ
We certainly wouldn't want two umpires to judge it differently. That's the point of discussing it. As for "obstruction"
Obstruction
An obstruction is
(a) an object that a boat could not pass without changing course substantially, if she were sailing directly towards it and one of her hull lengths from it;
(b) an object that can be safely passed on only one side; or
(c) an object, area or line that is so designated in a rule;

I don't think the mark that is not part of the course qualifies as an obstruction. Say it is a 4-foot inflatable and the boats are J22s. Aiming straight at it from 33 feet away would only require less than a 5-7 degree course change, it can be safely passed on either side, it is not designated as such in the SIs. 


Created: Yesterday 21:25
Richard Jones
I think as they both believed the mark they rounded was the correct one they would have sailed believing that all rules applied at that mark and common sense says that is how it should be judged.

Created: Yesterday 20:56
Doc Sullivan
Nationality: United States
I do recall one match when neither competitor was sure which mark to go around (one competitor could be considered king of match racing) so they both went around 2 marks (one right and one the wrong one. Like Rick noted they were not close). Had they been close I think we would have made calls that 18 applied at both marks.  As an umpire how many times have you missed which mark was the windward mark and relied on the competitors as to which was the correct mark
Created: Today 00:46
Rick Myers
Nationality: United States
Doc.  How many times do we call the PRO and ask which mark it is?
Created: Today 00:53
Doc Sullivan
Nationality: United States
Reply to: 19228 - Rick Myers
NEVER You can’t call on the radio as it gives advantage to the competition I suppose if you know their phone number you could call
Created: Today 01:05
Rick Myers
Nationality: United States
We call on the umpire channel.  
Created: Today 01:11
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more