Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

Redress for UFD Penalty Caused by Contact Before the Start: Protest Committee Responsibilities and Applicable Rules

Tiziano Menconi
Nationality: Italy
Question:

In light of the facts described below, where boat Y was pushed over the starting line before the starting signal by boat X, which failed to keep clear from astern, how should the Protest Committee act in response to a request for redress submitted by Y?

Which Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) and Cases or Interpretations from the World Sailing Case Book could be cited to support a possible decision by the Protest Committee to cancel the UFD penalty and reinstate Y in the race results?


Facts Found:

10 seconds before the starting signal (Uniform flag displayed), boat Y, on starboard tack, was stationary, positioned near to leeward of the starting line and about few meters to port of the race committee boat.
Boat X, also on starboard tack and clear astern of Y, was approaching from behind. X failed to keep clear and made contact with Y’s stern, causing Y to be pushed over the starting line before the starting signal.

The Race Committee identified Y as being over the line during the period before the start and scored her UFD under Rule 30.3.

Immediately after the contact, Y maneuvered back to the pre-start side of the line and successfully started from the correct side.

Created: Today 18:16

Comments

Format:
P
Christopher Walmsley
Nationality: Canada
61.4 b) 1-5 don't provide for redress in this situation.  (Unless maybe X intentionally forced Y over)
Created: Today 18:41
John Ball
Nationality: Canada
The correct outcome for this is that Y should be reinstated in the race in her recorded finish position. She was forced to break the U flag start by the actions of a boat that broke R 12. She returned and started correctly.

The PC should start the Redress hearing, and then protest X and hold that hearing, and then if they DSQ X, there are grounds to exonerate Y and require the RC to change the scoring. 

Here are the applicable rules.
43.1 (a) When as a consequence of breaking a rule a boat has compelled another boat to break a rule, the other boat is
exonerated for her breach.

43.2 A boat exonerated for breaking a rule need not take a penalty and shall not be penalized for breaking that rule.

61.4(b)
(5) an action of another boat, or a crew member or support person of that boat, that resulted in a penalty under rule 2
or a penalty or warning under rule 69.

90.3 
(d) The race committee shall implement scoring changes directed by the protest committee or national authority as a result of decisions made in accordance with the rules.

John
Created: Today 19:02
Werner Esswein
RRS 43.1 (a) 
Created: Today 19:03
Vince Harris
Nationality: United States
Since Y broke 30.3 because she was compelled to by X, she would be exonerated under 43.1(a).  She then re-started properly, so she should be scored in her actual finishing position.  I believe that she has a case to be made for redress under 61.4 (b) (1).

A successful protest of boat X, or their acceptance of a penalty for the incident, would help her case, for sure.

World Sailing Case 140, particularly Question 1, provides some good insight into this situation.




Created: Today 19:13
P
Christopher Walmsley
Nationality: Canada
Case 140 is good and is clear that Y should be both exonerated for 30.3 and reinstated.   But 61.4 doesn't provide a clear path to make that change as "Redress", but as John noted, 90.3, would allow the PC to determine exoneration was appropriate, and could direct a scoring change.
Created: Today 19:28
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more