Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

"I" flag rules rounding the ends

Trisha McElroy
Certifications:
  • Measurer in Training
  • Club Race Officer
  • Regional Judge
If a boat is above the start line on the starboard side of the signal, (committee boat), one minute before the start, can they come down and pass stern of the RC boat and cross the start line? Do they have to cross start line then round an end then start?  When it says the starting line and it's extensions can they just dip back from an extension and then go for the line??
Created: 24-Jun-18 05:40

Comments

Satish Kumar Kanwar
Nationality: India
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Race Officer
1
30.1. I Flag Rule
 
If flag I has been displayed, and any part of a boat's hull is on the course side of the starting line or one of its extensions during the last minute before her starting signal, she shall sail across an extension so that her hull is completely on the pre-start side before she starts.

Yes, the boat can come down the extension and pass astern of the RC boat and start.
Created: 24-Jun-18 06:15
P
Peter van Muyden
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
  • International Race Officer
1
The diagram below shows another way to start correctly after violating RRS 30.1.  Assume that at position 2 is within the last minute before the start.
image.png 116 KB
Created: 24-Jun-18 06:36
Lorenz Buchler
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
  • International Race Officer
  • Regional Race Officer
  • National Race Officer
0
My comment does not answer your question ;-) please note that World Sailing very much discourages the use of the I flag because
a) it contributes to a sagging starting line (not the line itself but the boats lining up…) since
b) the penalty for a boat crossing the line early in the middle of the line is far more severe than for a boat starting early at one end of the starting line. 
Created: 24-Jun-18 07:20
Matt Bounds
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Race Officer
0
While World Sailing does discourage the use of the "I" flag starting penalty, there are situations where its use is appropriate:
  • A short starting line (<150 meters) with a small fleet.
  • When the class wants it used (like the Tartan 10 class). Know your customer!
  • Club events where the "U" flag penalty is perceived to be too harsh. (Many club racers do not know how the "Z" flag penalty works.)
Created: 24-Jun-18 15:59
Jerry Thompson
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • Umpire In Training
  • Regional Race Officer
1
And in the US, college and high school procedural rules invoke the I flag starting penalty following a general recall.
Created: 24-Jun-18 16:32
Lorenz Buchler
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
  • International Race Officer
  • Regional Race Officer
  • National Race Officer
0
Well, at least I have the answer to the question why World Sailing doesn’t throw out I and Z altogether if ‚no one‘ uses them :-)
Created: 24-Jun-18 17:55
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more