Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
At our weekend radio controlled model boat regatta Boat A was fouled by Boat B.
Boat A claimed that Boat B had gained an advantage and therefore had to do not just one turn, but had to continue to do penalty turns until Boat A had caught up and passed Boat B.
i sure can't find that in the RRS - have I missed it somewhere?
If you investigate further you will find that the International Radio Sailing Association has published "A Case Book For Radio Sailing" Interpretations of the Racing Rules 2017-2020. In Case B-2 they describe in Question 2 the requirement to take an additional penalty turn under E4.3(b).
In the Answer 2 to Question 2, in the second paragraph they state as follows: "The First Part of rule E4.3(b) states 'if the boat gained a significant advantage .... by her breach despite taking a penalty.' This condition must be applied after each One-Turn Penalty taken. If, after taking an additional One-Turn Penalty, the boat has still gained a significant advantage as a result of her breach, another One-Turn Penalty is required before she is exonerated. Therefore, it is possible that a boat will need to complete multiple turns in order to exonerate herself from a breach of a rule of Part 2 or rule 31 if she had gained a significant advantage by her breach."
The IRSA Case Book can be found here:
https://www.radiosailing.org/documents/category/267-interpretations?download=257:irsa-radio-sailing-call-book
As Bill mentioned, this can be modified in the NOR and Sailing Instructions.
At Pacific Northwest Model Yacht Club (PNMYC.org) we limited it to just one additional turn for a while to help newer sailors stay in the race - and to encourage voluntary penalties.
The IRSA Case Book has an excellent interactive menu based on each Rule.
Your situation is covered more fully in Case P4 for Rule 44:
...A takes an additional One-Turn Penalty but, even then, is still ahead of the infringed boat.
Question 1
When a boat has gained a significant advantage in a race or heat after taking a One-Turn Penalty ..., will a single additional One-Turn Penalty ... exonerate the boat irrespective of the advantage gained?
Answer 1
No. The first part of rule E4.3(b) states ’if the boat gained a significant advantage .…. by her breach despite taking a penalty’.
This condition must be applied after each One-Turn Penalty taken. If, after taking a One-Turn Penalty, the boat has still gained a significant advantage as a result of her breach, another One-Turn Penalty is required before she is exonerated.
Therefore, it is possible that a boat will need to complete multiple turns in order to exonerate herself from a breach ... if she had gained a significant advantage by that breach.
When a boat causes serious damage or, by breaking a rule of Part 2, causes another boat to become disabled ... she must retire.
Question 2
If A has gained a significant advantage over several boats ...does the requirement to take an additional One-Turn penalty continue until she no longer has an advantage over every one of the boats infringed?
Answer 2
Yes
Regards.
https://www.radiosailing.org/documents/category/267-interpretations?download=257:irsa-radio-sailing-call-book
As Bill mentioned, this can be modified in the NOR and Sailing Instructions.
At Pacific Northwest Model Yacht Club (PNMYC.org) we limited it to just one additional turn for a while to help newer sailors stay in the race - and to encourage voluntary penalties.
Your situation is covered more fully in Case P4 for Rule 44:
...A takes an additional One-Turn Penalty but, even then, is still ahead of the infringed boat.
Question 1
When a boat has gained a significant advantage in a race or heat after taking a One-Turn Penalty ..., will a single additional One-Turn Penalty ... exonerate the boat irrespective of the advantage gained?
Answer 1
No. The first part of rule E4.3(b) states ’if the boat gained a significant advantage .…. by her breach despite taking a penalty’.
This condition must be applied after each One-Turn Penalty taken. If, after taking a One-Turn Penalty, the boat has still gained a significant advantage as a result of her breach, another One-Turn Penalty is required before she is exonerated.
Therefore, it is possible that a boat will need to complete multiple turns in order to exonerate herself from a breach ... if she had gained a significant advantage by that breach.
When a boat causes serious damage or, by breaking a rule of Part 2, causes another boat to become disabled ... she must retire.
Question 2
If A has gained a significant advantage over several boats ...does the requirement to take an additional One-Turn penalty continue until she no longer has an advantage over every one of the boats infringed?
Answer 2
Yes