Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

Penalty Turns for Radio Controlled Boats

Jim Wente
Nationality: Canada
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
At our weekend radio controlled model boat regatta Boat A was fouled by Boat B.
Boat A claimed that Boat B had gained an advantage and therefore had to do not just one turn, but had to continue to do penalty turns until Boat A had caught up and passed Boat B.

i sure can't find that in the RRS - have I missed it somewhere?
Created: 18-May-07 02:24

Comments

Juan Ruggero
Nationality: Argentina
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • Umpire In Training
0
Please take a look at E4.3 (b)
Regards.
Created: 18-May-08 12:45
Bill Handley
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Certifications:
  • National Judge
0
This is a rule that can be changed by race documentation so you need to look there as well
Created: 18-May-08 13:24
Ken Morrison
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • International Judge
1
If you investigate further you will find that the International Radio Sailing Association has published "A Case Book For Radio Sailing" Interpretations of the Racing Rules 2017-2020. In Case B-2 they describe in Question 2 the requirement to take an additional penalty turn under E4.3(b).

In the Answer 2 to Question 2, in the second paragraph they state as follows: "The First Part of rule E4.3(b) states 'if the boat gained a significant advantage .... by her breach despite taking a penalty.' This condition must be applied after each One-Turn Penalty taken. If, after taking an additional One-Turn Penalty, the boat has still gained a significant advantage as a result of her breach, another One-Turn Penalty is required before she is exonerated. Therefore, it is possible that a boat will need to complete multiple turns in order to exonerate herself from a breach of a rule of Part 2 or rule 31 if she had gained a significant advantage by her breach."
Created: 18-May-08 15:43
Philip Hubbell
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Club Race Officer
  • Judge In Training
0
The IRSA Case Book can be found here:
https://www.radiosailing.org/documents/category/267-interpretations?download=257:irsa-radio-sailing-call-book
As Bill mentioned, this can be modified in the NOR and Sailing Instructions.
At Pacific Northwest Model Yacht Club (PNMYC.org) we limited it to just one additional turn for a while to help newer sailors stay in the race - and to encourage voluntary penalties.
Created: 18-May-08 18:47
Philip Hubbell
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Club Race Officer
  • Judge In Training
0
The IRSA Case Book has an excellent interactive menu based on each Rule.
Your situation is covered more fully in Case P4 for Rule 44:

...A takes an additional One-Turn Penalty but, even then, is still ahead of the infringed boat.
Question 1
When a boat has gained a significant advantage in a race or heat after taking a One-Turn Penalty ..., will a single additional One-Turn Penalty ... exonerate the boat irrespective of the advantage gained?
Answer 1
No. The first part of rule E4.3(b) states ’if the boat gained a significant advantage .…. by her breach despite taking a penalty’.
This condition must be applied after each One-Turn Penalty taken. If, after taking a One-Turn Penalty, the boat has still gained a significant advantage as a result of her breach, another One-Turn Penalty is required before she is exonerated.
Therefore, it is possible that a boat will need to complete multiple turns in order to exonerate herself from a breach ... if she had gained a significant advantage by that breach.
When a boat causes serious damage or, by breaking a rule of Part 2, causes another boat to become disabled ... she must retire.
Question 2
If A has gained a significant advantage over several boats ...does the requirement to take an additional One-Turn penalty continue until she no longer has an advantage over every one of the boats infringed?
Answer 2
Yes
Created: 18-May-08 19:00
[You must be signed in to add a comment]