In a multi-race regatta (non-team), the last race is a 4 leg distance race. Boat A will win 1st place if Boat A finishes ahead of Boat B, and Boat B finishes ahead of Boat C. Boat C will win 2nd place if she places ahead of Boat B, and vise versa.
During the 3rd leg, Boats A and C are ahead of Boat B, Boat C fouls Boat A without contact. Boat A calls "protest", Boat C completes a 2-turn penalty thus falling behind Boats A and B.
During the last leg of the last race, Boat B fouls Boat A in the exact same way as Boat C did earlier. Boat C is close-enough behind that Boat A figures Boat B's 2-turn penalty will allow Boat C to finish ahead of Boat B and thus take Boat A out of 1st place. Boat A does not call protest and Boat B does not do a 2-turn penalty and the Boats finish A, B, C and place 1st, 2nd, 3rd in the regatta respectively.
Is Boat A's ignoring Boat B's break of a rule (unpenalized/unprotested) because it will benefit her score or standing ... is that close enough to sailing your boat tactically to benefit your score or standing (.. as outlined in Case 78 ..) that ignoring the rule breach of a competitor (without protest/penalty) is covered by Case 78? Does the effect on Boat C's final standing factor in?
If "yes" to the Case 78 question, would it make a difference if the foul Boat A is aware of was:
- Boat B's foul was "not sailing the course" (Boat B missed a mark and thus sailed a shorter course than all other competitors)?
- Boat B didn't protest Boat A earlier in the regatta and so Boat A was just "paying Boat B back" because she "owed her one"?
For consideration .. WS Misconduct Guide . From the guide, do any of these concepts apply?: