Translation missing: en.posts.shared.post_not_found

Powered by
WIND


Recent Posts

Recent Comments

  • Today 01:20
  • Interested to see if the current protest (just upheld by the IJ)  for overall place in the S2H 2025 Race is akin to this thread subject - Race Committee also lodged a protest on the same matter ('see' or 'observe' etc subject?)...we await full details.
    Today 01:14
  • Interesting question.

    Here's how I break it down.

    • Polar Express, windward & overlapped, is required to keep clear of Sleigh Ride, leeward & overlapped, RRS 11, and does so.  No rules broken.
    • RRS 18 applies while the boats are in the zone.  Polar Express, outside & overlapped, is required to give mark-room to Sleigh Ride, inside & overlapped, RRS 18.2(a)(1) and does so.  No rules broken.
    • RRS 19 applies at the obstruction, neither 19.1 (a) or (b) are true.  Sleigh Ride as the right-of-way boat gets to choose which side of the obstruction she is going to pass the obstruction on, RRS 19.2(a).  Sleigh Ride, overlapped & outside, is required to give room between her and the obstruction to Polar Express, inside & overlapped, RRS 19.2(b).  Sleigh Ride does not give Polar Express room between her and the obstruction and breaks RRS 19.2(b).
    • Looking at 43 - Exoneration
      • 43.1(a) Sleigh Ride was not compelled to break rule 19.2(b) because of another boat breaking a rule, so no exoneration here.
      • 43.1(b) Sleigh Ride is sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled and breaks a rule.  However, the list of rules for which she is exonerated for is Section A of Part 2 (RRS 10-13), 15, 16, & 31.  She has broken 19.2(b) which is not in the list, so no exoneration here.
      • 43.1(c) No contact occurred, so no exoneration here.

     I am left with Sleigh Ride breaking 19.2(b) and no exoneration and Polar Express not breaking any rules.

    The next question is suppose Polar Express forces her way between the obstruction and Sleighs Ride and Sleigh Ride hits the mark as a result.  There is no contact between the boats or with the obstruction.

    Now you have:

    • Polar Express breaking RRS 11 & 18.2(a)(1).
    • Sleigh Ride breaking RRS 31.
    • Polar Express is exonerated for breaking RRS 11 by 43.1(b) as she is sailing within the room she is entitled to.
    • Polar Express is not exonerated for breaking RRS 18.2(a)(1) as it is not in the list of rules she gets exonerated for in 43.1(b).
    • Sleigh Ride is exonerated for breaking RRS 31 as it is in the list of rules she gets exonerated for.
    Today 01:04
  • Yes David, in that scenario would be for sure. I just use the rough 50-50 average here to mentor the young lads (ie don't hide behind it or throw in the towel just becasue of one's handicap) - and inside the boat 50% is the boat itself + 'technology developments' (getting a flying jib or something or rather) by owner, skipper and crew, to gain advantge over competitiors (handicap affect gets a lot less)
    Yesterday 04:16
  • Thanks - yes, we figured so (and we often announce to Orgainsers in meetings as well that this is how we are handling it). Of course, the corollary to this during racing is that the lads aboard use subscription cell phones or Starlink for wifi to access the free versions of Windy and Windguru (and we have a notebook / nav station aboard that has annual sunscription operating systems etc)...
    Yesterday 01:06

Forums Leader Board

This Month

1 John Quirk 9.8K
2 John Allan 7.85K
3 Michael Butterfield 5.85K
4 Jim Champ 4.45K
5 Michael Moradzadeh 3.8K
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more