Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Under new rules - Last new sentence in 18.1 - Back from J.Standley post last Aug, 12th.
Regional Race Officer
About the new last sentence in rule 18 and pointing on "no longer applies" and "has been given" wording in "Rule 18 no longer applies between boats when mark-room has been given." The next leg will be a beat on windward. Blue is clear ahead at the zone. During all time sailing to the mark and at the mark, Yellow gave room to Blue as per rule 18.2b. Blue luffed in a seamanlike way to close-hauled when at the mark. In pos.2 Blue is at the top close-hauled as she can. Does 18.2a apply in pos.2?
Created: 20-Dec-10 12:33
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2021-2024
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual