A forum member drafted a post a while ago (that we held-back due to our forum rules) based upon an experience they had on the race course. We've since let some time pass and I've restructured the questions a bit in the following 2 scenarios.
In the drawing, North is up/top.
Scenario #1: True Wind @210deg (as shown)
2 boats are on port, running along a harbor marked by buoys A,B,C, with Yellow clear-ahead of Blue at #1. The SI's define this area as an obstruction. If both boats were to continue along the obstruction on port, their the proper course would be to gybe on to starboard as they pass Buoy C to head to the finish.
Blue hardens-up sailing away from Yellow and catches a fresh breeze. Blue gybes back onto starboard on a collision course with Yellow and starts yelling "Starboard!" as they approach. Yellow holds her course on port, close along the obstruction. At #6, Blue gybes back onto port and protests Yellow.
- Is Blue's Protest upheld? Why/Why-not.
- Does Rule 19.2(c) apply?
Scenario #2: True Wind @275 deg (not shown)
Same scenario, but the true-wind is just forward abeam of both boats at #1. At #5, Blue throws her main over and sails by-the-lee toward Yellow between #5 - #6. Does the outcome change? Why?