Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
R 18.2(a) and exoneration under R 21
For a port rounding weather mark, two boats enter the zone on port, with Green ahead and to leeward of Yellow. Green tacks to stbd to fetch the mark. Yellow starts to tack, but contact occurs before Yellow completes her tack. There is no damage. Each boat protests the other, and no penalty turns are taken.
Q1. When does Yellow gain mark room under R18.2(a)? As soon the overlap begins as she gains stbd tack after passing htw, or after her tack is completed?
Q2. If Yellow gains mark room under R18.2(a) as soon as the overlap is established as she passes htw to stbd, is she exonerated for breaking R 13 under R 21?
Created: 20-May-17 16:29
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual