Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
I'm trying to think through the implications of the fact that this rule only applies to a boat that is fetching the mark after tacking. It seems kind of odd.
In the following hypothetical, yellow is in a bad spot approaching the mark: Ducking would mean ducking the entire fleet. So yellow tacks before the lay line (assume yellow wouldn't be able to shoot the mark even in the absence of other boats) and since 18.3 doesn't apply, luffs up blue almost to a stop (but both boats retain some steerage, and neither boat goes past head-to-wind).
At that point, blue is no longer fetching the mark, and I'm not sure what happens next. Maybe the other boats can't get to the mark on this tack either with blue and yellow in the way, so they tack to port.
Is yellow breaking any rules?
Created: 20-Feb-25 14:01
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual