Translation missing: en.posts.shared.post_not_found

Powered by
WIND


Recent Posts

Recent Comments

  • Calum, good get with the ambiguity of 'up to'.  So draft as:  'Not more than'.
    Today 08:11
  • Doc Sullivan
    said Today 01:14 ID: 19698
    At college nationals this year we were asked to protest a boat for a part 2 infraction if the boat had not been protested.

    So the OA was asking Judges/Umpires to give them refereed racing.  Were you OK with that?

    When we tried this on the water it did not work as the protested boat would say they were already protested (hail and a raised hand is required).

    So what?  If you were satisfied that they took an on-water penalty you could withdraw the committee protest, or if not immediately satisfied, go ahead with a hearing and maybe conclude that they had taken an applicable penalty and not penalise them further.

     In team racing the process is the same.

    Only if the NOR/SI have switched off RRS D2.1(b) which always requires a red flag.

     Competitors especially in the women’s events complained that they were not getting a call. I suggested ( and other Judge/umpires) agreed that a red flag would make it much easier to know when you are called in.

    Don't your team racers have red flags sewed into the cuffs of their sailing shirts?
    Today 03:14
  • additional facts can be drawn from agreed diagrams.

  • The change of direction to finish may be due to the nature of Case 82. If the SI's clearly write this, then there is no questions or arguments.
    Kim
    Wed 02:44
  • see below.
    RYA 2001/2

    Rule 2,  Fair Sailing
    Rule 60.3(b),  Protests: Delivering a Protest

    When a boat believes that she may have broken a rule and retires in compliance with the Basic Principle, she may revoke her retirement within protest or declaration time if she later realises that she did not in fact break a rule.
    However, if she is not acting in good faith, she breaks rule 2, Fair Sailing.
    ASSUMED FACTS

    Boat A lodged a protest against boats B and C for sailing the wrong course. Boat B did not believe she had done so, but ‘did the sportsmanlike thing’ and retired. Boat C did not retire. Within protest time, boat A checked her facts with the race committee, and found that her protest was unjustified. She withdrew her protest against boat C.

    QUESTION

    Was boat B then entitled to ‘unretire’?

    ANSWER

    The rules are silent with regard to ‘unretiring’. When a boat retires in compliance with rule 44.1, Penalties at the Time of an Incident: Taking a Penalty, for having gained a significant advantage or causing serious damage in the act of touching a mark or breaking a rule of Part 2, that is irrevocable.

    When a boat retires for some other reason, as in this case, and has indicated her retirement either to the race committee or to another boat, she may reverse this decision before the end of protest time or declaration time, whichever is earlier, provided that she has not broken any other rule in the meantime. For instance, retiring during a race, using her engine, and then resuming racing would preclude ‘unretirement’.

    However, if she has no good reason to ‘unretire’, she breaks rule 2, Fair Sailing, and the protest committee should, if necessary, extend the protest time limit for any boats that did not proceed with a protest against her because of her initial retirement.

    Question from Royal Southampton YC

Forums Leader Board

This Month

1 Michael Moradzadeh 3K
2 Eric Rimkus 1.8K
3 Jerry Thompson 1K
4 John Allan 800
5 Michael Butterfield 600
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more