Forum: Race Committee & Race Management

How long is the race committee allowed to change the position of the first windward mark?

Christian Hartmann
100
Tips
27.2 
states that no later than the preparatory signal, the race committee may move a starting mark. 

Rule 33
"CHANGING THE NEXT LEG OF THE COURSE" 
allows the race committee to change a leg of the course that begins at a rounding mark or at a gate while boats are racing. This is done by changing the position of the next mark (or the finishing line) and signaling all boats before they begin the leg. The next mark does not need to be in position at that time. 

It is clear that Rule 27.2 only applies to starting marks, and Rule 33 does not include the starting line as the beginning of the next leg. Additionally, starting marks are, in my opinion, not considered rounding marks. 

This leads to my questions:

How long is the race committee allowed to change the position of the first windward mark?

Which rule in the racing rules supports the correct answer?

many thx
Created: Yesterday 19:30

Comments

Format:
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
Christian, by "changing the position", do you mean
  1. adjust the location of the mark such that it is in the location notated on the course board?
  2. or change to a new heading and distance different from what's notated on the course board?
Created: Yesterday 20:20
Christian Hartmann
sorry for late answering . European time zone here. Actually Germany

2. we tried to rotate the whole course by -20 degrees due to the change of the wind direction. Moved the pin end back (to lee) first and tried to adjust the first mark by 200 m or so accordingly
Created: Today 06:22
Craig Priniski
Starting line is a gate (after the signal at least!) So marks on the line until the prep, first mark until the start, but that's pushing it a bit if the drop goes wrong etc, 
Created: Yesterday 20:20
Sue Reilly
Craig - first mark until the start is a preference for some but not a rule.  In big classes, with shifty conditions,  I don't set the top mark until I get a clean start off.
Created: Yesterday 20:34
Craig Priniski
Reply to: 19438 - Sue Reilly
I don't see where you can drop a mark during a leg in the rules 
Created: Yesterday 22:12
Andreas Knospe
Rule 30.3 and 30.4 need a triangle in the last minute before the starting signal therefore you need a nonmoving mark one. Otherwise boats need a fixed mark 1 when it’s importend for tacktics desiscions. For example in star class you have sometimes a distance from start to M1  over 2 nm. So it‘s up to you as the RO to decide when it’s importend. 
Created: Yesterday 20:53
Christian Hartmann
Reply to: 19439 - Andreas Knospe
sorry for late answering . European time zone here. Actually Germany
just the usual Papa flag
Created: Today 06:24
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
We had this discussion at a NRO seminar about 'trimming up' a gate.

RRS 34 also provides that if a mark is out of position while boats are racing, the race committee shall, if possible ... move it to its correct position ...

I take Andreas' point about Blac Flag and U Flag requiring a mark to be present (?in the water?), but otherwise, if the mark is out of position, say, still aboard a mark vessel, the race committee shall move it to its correct position, obviously, as soon as possible.

This approach relies on the SI telling us what the proper position of the mark is, that is 'windward' etc.
Created: Yesterday 21:03
Christian Hartmann
Reply to: 19440 - John Allan
unfortunately, available only in german language:  https://www.manage2sail.com/de-DE/event/DBYCGOI142025#!/onb?tab=documents&classId=DBYCGOI142025
Created: Today 06:31
Tim Noble
Rule 27.2 refers to a Start Mark.  Once a boat crosses the start line they are on Leg 1.  To more the Windward Mark #1, Rule 33 applies which states, "While boats are racing, the race committee may change a leg of the course that begins at a rounding mark or at a gate by changing the position of the next mark and signalling all boats before they begin the leg".  Since leg 1 has begun (and boats are already racing) as soon as the first boat properly crosses the start line, they can no longer move Mark #1 unless they are signalling a change of course at the time the boats start.  If they are not signalling then they can't change Mark #1 - it needs to be in place.  Or am I missing something?
Created: Yesterday 21:05
Sue Reilly
Reply to: 19441 - Tim Noble
They are not moving the first mark - they are setting it in the place that they told the racers it would be.  Nothing wrong with that.  You just have to be confident with your mark boat.  
Created: Yesterday 21:14
Christian Hartmann
Reply to: 19441 - Tim Noble
we moved mark 1 by ~200 m to the left. didn't chaged the course scheme. adjusted starting line according to RR and SI and after tha mark 1 within the last five minute before the start. (more precise: between 180 and 120 seconds to go, mark 1 was in the new place)
Created: Today 06:35
Nick Hutton
This all assumes we are in a laid course in one of the usual configurations - trap, w/l etc - but in Keelboat raining a mark boat often leaves the starting area at the same time as the competing boats, to lay a mark many miles away and often not in a straight line, but following a coastline, waterway or river. Hence no rule in RRS as this would often be impractical and of no real use anyway. The RRS cover many and varied situations. 
Created: Yesterday 21:25
Matt Bounds
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
Peter Reggio (Luigi) once asked at an Advanced Race Management Seminar in 2016, "When does the windward mark need to be set?" The answers from the students ran the gamut from before the prep signal to at the start.

The answer he was looking for was, "When they (the competitors) need it."

I've seen several instances with IROs (looking at you, PVM) having the windward mark visible in close proximity to it's final position, but not set at the start - usually to tweak a target time, not so much a bearing.

The issue with 30.3 and 30.4 ("requiring" a fixed weather mark) is non issue. Given a 0.3 nm starting line and a 1.5 nm first leg, the interior angle of the triangle is 84.3°. Changing the distance has a minimal effect on that (extending to 2.0 nm changes it to 85.7°). Changing the angle has about a 1:1 ratio on the interior angle (using the original dimensions (5° move to one side causes the interior angle to change approximately +5° on one side and -5° on the other).

I always ask myself the "Redress Question." I ask myself, "Is this likely to involve me being in a redress hearing?" If the probability is low, then I'm more inclined to do it.

Truly, the bottom line is what are you trying to accomplish? Hit a specific target time? Have a perfectly square course? It should all relate to the competitor experience - the question to ask yourself is, "Is what I'm doing making the race better for the competitors - and by how much?"  High-risk actions for minimal improvement is rarely a good thing. 
Created: Yesterday 21:58
Christian Hartmann
very nice points here!  will take that with me ...
Created: Today 06:41
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Well now, under rule 33 moving the windward mark while the racers are on the first leg is, I submit, clearly an improper action. However if a competitor wished to claim redress they also have to demonstrate that her score or place in a race or series [was] made, or may be made, significantly worse through no fault of her own. I suggest in many, even most circumstances where even a semi competent race team found a need to move a windward mark they would struggle to demonstrate that.

And I completely agree with Matt's last paragraph.
Created: Yesterday 21:59
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Craig, the RRS (and WS Cases) are an open rule set.

I don't see where it says you can't.
Created: Yesterday 22:22
Craig Priniski
Reply to: 19447 - John Allan
A mark is either a Starting mark, or a mark bounding the end of a leg, there is no reason to think of the first mark as some special case, it IS covered, and not permitted. 
Created: Today 00:22
Al Sargent
Nationality: United States
A competitor's perspective: In the recent ILCA Masters Worlds, a competitor (not me) tacked onto the starboard layline, a few dozen boatlengths from the windward mark. Then they saw the windward mark, a MarkSetBot, start moving to the right. Not a good thing from a fairness perspective, and not allowed under Rule 33.

But, per SI 11.2 (https://onb.ilca.roms.ar/ilca6ilca7masters2025/images/onbdocs/SAILING_INSTRUCTIONS_Amendment_5.pdf) the race committee could change the windward mark position +/- 10 degrees, at any time. This seems like a poorly written sailing instruction, since it opens the door for abuse.
Created: Yesterday 22:38
P
John D. Farris
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
Reply to: 19448 - Al Sargent
Al, what do you think about this rewritten SI 11.2:

The Race Committee may change the position of Mark 1 (the windward mark) by up to ±10° of the original bearing only if a persistent wind‑direction shift of 10° or more is measured (or expected) and is assessed to give a consistent advantage to one side of the course.

This sets a clear threshold rather than “at any time”. 
Created: Yesterday 22:51
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
50
Tips
Reply to: 19448 - Al Sargent
John, Complicated, facts hard to prove if it came to a redress, and it doesn't solve Al's tactical problem of the mark shifting right under his nose.

How bad would that be if you had boats in the zone and the mark started dancing around?
Created: Yesterday 22:59
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
Reply to: 19448 - Al Sargent
That's pretty worrying. I have no experience of robotic marks, but I know how much my GPS position dances about when I have a recording on my boat. The whole of RRS18 depends on the mark being pretty much in a fixed position, give or take wave action. The implications of a mark moving and forcing boats previously on or beyond the layline to tack in the zone are pretty scary.
Created: Yesterday 23:22
P
John D. Farris
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
Here's my second try at SI 11.2 -

11.2 – Change of Position of the Windward Mark (Mark 1).

The Race Committee may change the position of Mark 1 by no more than ±10° from its original bearing to maintain a fair first leg when a persistent wind shift of 10° or more has occurred. Any such change must be made and completed before the first boat has sailed more than 25% of the distance to Mark 1, based on the original course bearing. After that point, no further repositioning shall occur, except to replace a missing mark under RRS 34. 
The change shall be signaled by displaying flag C with repetitive sound signals from the Race Committee signal vessel or a designated mark boat stationed along the first leg, and, if possible, broadcast on VHF Channel ???. This changes RRS 33.

For context:
We recently ran the VX One North American Championship using a fully digital race management system. The entire operation — starting sequences, mark movements, course changes, tracking, and finishes — was handled by RaceSense and MarkSetBots, all controlled from a single signal boat. Apart from that, we had just one safety boat and a media boat on the course — and that was the full on-water team.



Created: Yesterday 23:23
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
50
Tips
Jim C re: "That's pretty worrying. I have no experience of robotic marks,"

This same concept came up in the orange-flag discussion. With a drop-mark ... you can see the mark-boat grab it and drag it.   With these mark-bots ... you have no visual indication that they are moving or have moved.  

Sure .... in the rare instance we'd have a mark drag a bit ... but I don't think the RRS and SI templates have kept up with adding required visual cues for setting-or and moving-of mark-bots. 

I think we need some set-signals that we start standardizing on ... be it a windward mark-bot or a starting-pin markbot. 
Created: Today 00:13
Jim Champ
Nationality: United Kingdom
I had this vision of 40 or 50 boats, leader on the lay line, rest stacked up to windward as they do, and suddenly the mark shifts 20 feet, and the first few have to tack in the zone and the rest are still on the lay line... I suppose, thinking rationally, it's no worse than a 10degree shift at the wrong moment, but it really gave me the shivers... Much bigger deal than a start line it seems to me. 

It's an obvious enough option, so I imagine you discussed it in the other topic, but maybe the markbot needs to have a flashing light or something when it thinks it's not on station. Do they use differential GPS? Without it I imagine the thing will do a lot of jogging around. 
Created: Today 03:28
Craig Priniski
There are Rule 27 Marks (starting marks) and Rule 33 marks, those marking the end of a leg, including a finish which would also be under Rule 33 unless you shorten the course.  What is implied is that niether rule covers the first mark? That doesn't make any sense. There would be no limit at all in that case as to when you could be movign the mark.  Instead you would be mis-applying Rule 34, for Missing Marks.  To be missing or out of place, it would have been in place in the first place (errors and omissions).  Nothing in the rules obsolves the RC from rules constraining when a mark may be moved. 
As described above, if you wanrt to do something after the start it would have to be addressed in the SIs as is done in the mark bot case.  You could write an SI such that the "windward mark will be placed .7 NM on the average wind axis." Then you have descibed where the mark would be.
See Case 32 - "A competitor is entitled to look exclusively to the notice of race or to written sailing instructions for all details relating to sailing the course"  
Created: Today 00:38
Al Sargent
Nationality: United States
John, thank you for taking a second stab at SI 11.2, and for sharing your experience with the VX One North American Championship.

A few comments from an ILCA saillor's perspective:

The Race Committee may change the position of Mark 1 by no more than ±10° from its original bearing >> Seems good, since the marks won't be too out of position. It's often not easy to spot the marks when they're 0.7 or 1.0 miles away.

to maintain a fair first leg >> Good to mention the spirit of the SI.

when a persistent wind shift of 10° or more has occurred. >> I'd leave this out, since the definition of a persistent shift is hazy at best. Case in point: at the ILCA Masters Worlds in Formia, Italy, the wind shifts were stochastic: they would oscillate predictably for a while, and then suddenly shift hard right or left 25 degrees. Then go back to oscillating off this new baseline. It was hard to establish a pattern.

Any such change must be made and completed before the first boat has sailed more than 25% of the distance to Mark 1, based on the original course bearing. >> This is the crux of the question: should it be 0% (i.e., as stated by RRS 33), 25%, or something else. Also, how to reliably measure that distance and determine which boat is first seems hard.

After that point, no further repositioning shall occur, except to replace a missing mark under RRS 34. >> Seems fine.

The change shall be signaled by displaying flag C with repetitive sound signals from the Race Committee signal vessel or a designated mark boat stationed along the first leg, and, if possible, broadcast on VHF Channel ???. This changes RRS 33. >> Seems fine.


Created: Today 01:45
P
Roger Wilson
I too support fully support Matt's comments. Our job is to give the competitors a safe, challenging racecourse with as much choice as possible. it is really important to be predictable and the competitors to know what you are likely to do and trust you. 

I too use RaceSence and Autonomous Marks a lot and think they are both great. I always post the "Race Management Guidelines" on the ONB where I describe how I will run the racing. If they competitors are required to have VHF I tell them the bearing and distance to Mark 1 just after the prep signal. If using boards I will post it after displaying the Orange flag if I have a big fleet and by the Warning Signal if a small fleet so they have time to see it. I don't lay marks until the start in deep water. If there is a big wind shift before the start I AP and change the boards/radio.
The SI I use use is:
9.2 The autonomous marks will go back to their original positions if they
are dragged or otherwise moved off station. Routine movement of autonomous marks will not be
grounds for redress. This includes minor readjustments and marks returning to station after
having been pushed or dragged away by a competitor. RRS 31 continues to apply.
RS21 Worlds 25 RM Guidelines v1.pdf 36.2 KB
Created: Today 07:37
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more