Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

RRS 20.1

Chin In
Nationality: Malaysia
Two port-tack boats are sailing close-hauled toward the windward mark, outside the zone (so Rule 18 does not yet apply).

A starboard-tack boat is also sailing close-hauled on the opposite tack (the “stand-on” boat under Rule 10).

The inner port-tack boat wants to tack because she is on a collision course with the starboard-tack boat.

However, the inner boat only shouts “woi tack!” — and does not use the proper call “Room to tack for an obstruction” as required by Rule 20.1(a).

It's safety rule, what shall starboard boat do?
Created: Yesterday 23:13

Comments

Format:
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
There is no such thing as a 'safety rule'.  All of the RRS rules are equal.
 
RRS 14 requires S, when it is clear that PL is not keeping clear to avoid contact with PL if reasonably possible.

Bear in mind that, in this scenario, PL is exercising a choice under RRS 19.2(a):  she can always change her mind and bear away and pass astern of S, and accept her obligation to give PW room to pass between her and S under RRS 19.2(b)
Created: Today 00:21
Eric Meyn
The outer port tack boat is not blocking the inner port tack boat from tacking. And a boat is not an obstruction. The inner boat is also windward so the outer port boat has right of way there as well. The inner boat can tack or ease and slow down. 
Created: Today 01:08
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more