Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

Is it a gate mark if the next leg is a reach?

Al Sargent
Nationality: United States
In ILCA championship regattas, we often use a double trapezoid course, as shown below.

My question concerns the final rounding of mark 3P before heading to mark 5. For the purposes of the last sentence of Rule 18.4, which states, "Rule 18.4 does not apply at a gate mark", is 3P considered a gate mark or not?

Argument in favor: we are required to go between marks 3S and 3P before going onto our final reach to mark 5, and any closely-located pair of marks, sailors are required to go between is a gate. (You can't round 3S to port on your way to mark 5; I've tried and it didn't go well.)

Argument against: a gate is a pair of closely-located pair of marks where you can pass close to either one to sail your proper course. But in this case, you'd only pass close to 3P to sail your proper course. So, in this situation, 3S/3P isn't actually a gate in the true sense of the term.

Why I'm asking: hypothetically, an inside starboard tack boat about to round 3P on the way to mark 5 could delay their jibe to the reach, and effectively "bounce" (force into an unplanned jibe) one or more outside port-tack boats who don't know about the last sentence of 18.4 and were expecting starboard to immediately jibe at 3P. This would push the port tacker(s) back and let the starboard boat better ensure their position at the finish. Of course, rules 14a and 14b (avoiding contact) need to be observed. Yes, this is cutthroat, but this is in the context of a national or world championship, where these courses are used.

Note that the RRS defines mark but not gate mark. (Maybe they should?)

This is a hypothetical situation and not related to any protest.

Thanks for your input.

image.png 990 KB
Created: Today 04:17

Comments

Format:
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
50
Tips
Yes it's a gate

See the annotation 3p/3s in the course list.

Maybe the race committee could replace 3p/3s with 3p.
Created: Today 04:30
Nick Hutton
Reply to: 18767 - John Allan
And that is in fact what we usually do. The last rounding is 3P only, so 3S is no longer a mark and there is no longer a gate.
Created: Today 04:34
Al Sargent
Nationality: United States
Nick -- sorry, but that's incorrect. S3 IS still a mark of the course prior to the final reach to 5, since boats need to take 3S to starboard, as indicated by the diagram.
Created: Today 05:03
Nick Hutton
Reply to: 18769 - Al Sargent
Suggest you read my comment as a response to John Allan’s comment above (which it is) where he says change the course description to remove 3S from the final rounding. Then you may agree. 
Created: Today 05:09
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Reply to: 18769 - Al Sargent
Why do boats need to leave 3s to starboard on the leg 3 to 5?

BTW, if it's a gate a boat could round 3s, then loop the whole gate, leaving 3s an 3p to stbd, then sail to 5.

If she was silly enough.
Created: Today 05:21
P
Benjamin Harding
Nationality: Hong Kong
100
Tips
The diagram is ambiguous.

The written description is not. When written 3s/3p it clearly means both those marks make up the rounding.  That is what is meant by a gate. 

As written, it's a gate.

Al,

I think Nick and John are saying that if the written description said...

Start - 1- 2 - 3s/3p - 2 - 3p - 5 - Finish

... then that 3s would not be a mark on that rounding to the reach. It would not be a gate. 18.4 would apply as it probably should.
Created: Today 05:17
Nick Hutton
Thank you for keeping up! 😊
Created: Today 05:24
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Ben re: "3S only .. 18.4 would apply as it probably should."

That's what I was thinking.  Having 18.4 not apply at the end could lead to shenanigans and/or work against the orderly finish that final config is intended to generate. 
Created: Today 10:36
Didier Greze
Nationality: France
Hi Gentlemen, as it is written under the diagram, 3P/3S is a gate and boats have to sail in the gate to sail correctly the course, if not their score will be NSC. It has no effect that usually for the final lap it’s written 3P. In this case, if the race committee considers it’s an error he has to write and publish an amendment to correct it. 
Created: Today 05:55
P
Michael Butterfield
Yes, you have to check the exact wording of the si. Here it is a gate. The ilca and cadet courses I am used to just have 3p  so it is not a gate.  This means no 18.4 and it cannot be used as a gate to finish, something the rc needs to consider
Created: Today 06:03
Nick Hutton
Correct Didier. John and I are simply saying change it to 3P only, as most SIs do, and the problem goes away. This thread should not be about how to cope with things that are wrong. It should be about fixing them. 
Created: Today 06:04
Nick Hutton
50
Tips
Re shortening, 3P used  on its own, ie not a gate because 3S has been removed from the description, is simply treated as any other mark of the course. Place a RC boat in the correct position, as per RRS32.2, nearby 3P and voila, you have a finishing line. 
Created: Today 06:09
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Why would you shorten at the last mark of a reap course? 
Created: Today 06:19
P
Michael Butterfield
Because the wind drops and you want to save the race, especially if a mark 5 is used.
Created: Today 06:24
Nick Hutton
Exactly! 
Created: Today 06:44
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
500m from the finish?   Desperation stakes <g>.
Created: Today 06:29
Didier Greze
Nationality: France
Reply to: 18780 - John Allan
That could be an issue if there is no more wind at all and no boats could finish in time …. 500m can be a very large sail in this case 😂
Created: Today 07:08
P
Peter van Muyden
Nationality: Canada
There could have been a wind shift which caused the Mark 3p to finish leg to be downwind which makes it very hard for the RC .  Please note that the Int ILCA class no longer uses mark 5 and the upwind finish.  Now they use the WS trap.
Created: Today 13:42
Mark Townsend
Nationality: United Kingdom
At the 2025 Sailing Grand Slam the trapezoid courses (I and O) and the Windward Leeward courses (LG and LR) shown below used only one of the gate marks prior to the finishing leg, mark 3p for I, O and LR and mark 3s for LG, so that rule 18.4 applied. As the other side of the gate did not begin, bound or end the leg it did not have a required side.   

Sailing Grand Slam Courses I and O


Sailing Grand Slam Courses LG and LR
 


Created: Today 16:06
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more