Forum: Rule 18 and Room at the Mark

Mark Room for Boats in Different Races

Tim Hohmann
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Club Judge
This is a hypothetical, based roughly on a protest heard a few weeks ago.

Yellow and Blue are sailing in different fleet races with different courses. They are approaching a leeward gate which is a mark on Y's course but not on B's. B is on starboard, Y on port. If both maintain course contact will occur near the right hand gate mark, which Y intends to round.

The boats are overlapped at three boat lengths from the mark. B hails starboard. Y, entering the zone, hails for mark room. Is Y entitled to mark room (or any kind of room) from B?

Scenario.jpg 54.4 KB
Created: 19-Sep-28 17:46

Comments

Steve Schupak
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Umpire
1
Looks like port starboard to me.  Though blue will need to remember 14.
Created: 19-Sep-28 17:54
Craig Daniels
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Regional Umpire
  • Club Race Officer
  • National Judge
1
Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone.

Note "they" in the rule.  So, no mark room. 
Created: 19-Sep-28 18:08
Warren Nethercote
Nationality: Canada
0
Or to be more explicit, per Rule 18.1, rule 18 does not apply in this situation.
Created: 19-Sep-28 20:31
Satish Kumar Kanwar
Nationality: India
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Race Officer
0
It is a case of Rule 10, Port - Starboard. Rule 18 does not apply as per Rule 18.1. 

There is no Mark Room to Yellow. Yellow to keep clear of Blue on Starboard.
Created: 19-Sep-29 05:05
Catalan Benaros
Nationality: Argentina
0
Yellow has Mark Room, 18.2b applys
Created: 19-Sep-29 13:41
Satish Kumar Kanwar
Nationality: India
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Race Officer
1
Catalan, in my opinion Rule 18 applies only if the mark is to be left on the same side by both the boats. In the present situation Blue need not leave the mark on the same side as Yellow. Therefore rule 18 will not apply and neither 18.2(b).
Created: 19-Sep-29 13:54
[You must be signed in to add a comment]