Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

Hitting the mark twice: different "incidents"?

P
Matt Johns
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Club Judge
The situation:

A boat is attempting to round a windward mark to be left to port in light air, but due to adverse current they misjudge the layline. An attempt to shoot up and around at the last minute, combined with an overeager spinnaker hoist, brings the boat to a dead stop against the mark. They are eventually able to tack onto port, but an incoming starboard tack boat causes them to tack back early. They touch the mark a second time but are at last able to round. The boat promptly gets well clear, takes a single turn penalty, and continues the race.  Approximately 20 seconds passes between their separation from the mark and the second contact.

We will, for the sake of my ego, pretend that this is hypothetical and does not in fact describe a situation I found myself in recently. 

Questions:
  1. Would both contacts with the mark be considered a single incident, or two?
  2. If its a single incident, then can you imagine any situation where a boat breaks a rule and then, before they are able to get well clear, breaks another rule, that you would consider to be two separate incidents? 
  3. If it is in fact possible for a boat to break a rule in a second incident before they are able to get clear and take a penalty for the first incident, would the penalties basically "stack"? 
Created: Yesterday 20:19

Comments

P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
Matt I'll take #3.  RRS 44, 44.1 and 44.2 are about taking a penalty for "an" incident or "the" incident. 

Multiple incidents each with an unexonerated rule breach  => an RRS 44 penalty for each incident. 

PS: For instance ... you hit the mark on the proper rounding-side, spin around the mark doing a gybe and tack and hit it again at the end of the penalty turn ... you'd need another penalty-turn for the 2nd hit. 
Created: Yesterday 20:37
Mark Townsend
Certifications:
  • International Race Officer
  • International Umpire
  • International Judge
Matt, regarding your question "Would both contacts with the mark be considered a single incident, or two?"

I would suggest that you read US Appeal 65, which addresses whether two occurrences were one or two incidents.

US Appeal 65
The test of whether two occurrences were one or two incidents is whether the second occurrence was the inevitable result of the first. A boat intending to protest another boat for two incidents during a race, no matter how close in time, must inform the protested boat that two protests will be lodged. 
Created: Yesterday 20:58
P
Michael Butterfield
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
These are two incidents, and require a separate penalty for each.
Created: Today 02:19
P
Matt Johns
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Club Judge
Thanks all, this aligns with my understanding. Thankfully when this actually happened to me I was able to (barely) avoid the second contact. 
Created: Today 19:49
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more