Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

R20 Hailing for room to tack and the new WS Q&A

There is a new WS Q&A about hailing under R 20. As I understand it, if the hail does not include the (now) required words “Room to Tack”, and for radio sailing and App E “ [my sail number] Room to Tack” then the hail is not valid – it is as if the hail was not made. The Q&A says that as R20.1 was not followed, an hailed boat is not required to respond under 20.2.

I have a question about how this relates to a stack of boats and R20.3. Frequently in radio sailing, after starting, a group of boats will quickly approach a shoreline or dock which is an obstruction. If the hail by the leeward boat does not comply with 20.1, but the second or third boat in a stack wants to pass along the hail under 20.3, is that valid if the original hail was invalid?

John

Created: 25-May-12 19:03

Comments

P
Michael Butterfield
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
I think if the boat passing on the hails, hails "room to tack" then the next boat has to respond by tacking immediately or hailing "you tack".
If the hail was invalid here the hailing boat may be penalised if the jude considers she did not need to make a substantial alterations of course, as she was further from the shore.
It is unlikely she will be challenged however, as there is a boat to leeward of her.
This is a safety rule so if a boat hails correctly, you must respond.
Created: 25-May-12 19:21
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
Let me make sure I understand.
  1. Approaching a shore line, lets say 3 (or more) boats on near-even ladder rungs.
  2. Leeward hails "need water"
  3. middle hails "room-to-tack"
  4. windward tacks and protests as they feel middle had plenty of space still
I agree that middle should theoretically not hail here until she either (a) hears a valid hail or (b) needs room herself.

This gets muddier as there become more boats, because the rule requires her to give others time to respond (including passing the hail along). With just three boats it's a little clearer, though the reality is that hitting the EXACT right moment might not be quibbled with by a PC/jury.
Created: 25-May-12 19:47
Eric Meyn
As sailors who are *cough* known for having common sense and good judgement, I think it should be on us to take the situation into consideration and base how early in the sequence of events to hail.  The number of boats that may have to react to the hail, how fast things are happening, the noise level, etc. etc. should all make the hailing party pad the time that they think is necessary for everyone to understand the situation, assess the situation, and react in a safe and timely manner.

Created: 25-May-12 20:10
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • International Umpire
  • Club Race Officer
  • National Judge
When I look at 20.2(b), a boat has been 'hailed' and 'shall respond even when the hail breaks rule 20.1'.  20.3 allows a hailed boat to hail another boat because they have been 'hailed'.  20.3 makes no mention about the validity of the hail, just that the boat has been hailed, so she can make a valid hail for room even though the hail she received is invalid.

20.3 also says that the requirements of 20.1 still apply to the hailed boat when making her hail (required words, arm signals if required, etc.) but the conditions (approaching an obstruction and close-hauled) do not.  What I find interesting is that the condition about fetching a mark will not apply either.  Consider this situation where a mark is also an obstruction:
image.png 241 KB


Blue can hail Yellow for room to tack.  Yellow can now hail Green and ask for room to tack even though Green is fetching the mark because the conditions of 20.1 do not apply to Yellow's hail to Green per 20.3.  This makes it critical to know if Blue hailed Yellow before Yellow hailed Green.  If Blue hails first then Yellow can hail Green.  If Yellow hails Green before Blue hails Yellow, then Yellow's hail is invalid as she is not passing along a hail, but making her own and therefore the conditions of 20.1 apply.

Created: 25-May-12 20:16
Bob Lewis
John C., I’m not following you. The Q&A says “In order for rule 20 to apply, a hail that includes the words ‘Room to tack’ needs to be made.”  And the Aussie appeal follows this.  Rule 20 is not in play. So it makes no sense to discuss any other sections of rule 20.  I would say that when they say “hail” in this rule they mean a hail of “room to tack”.  I believe that was the point of the rule change.
Created: 25-May-12 21:22
Bob Lewis
To answer John Ball, as above I’m in agreement with Michael that it’s as if no hail has been made and so boat 2 can only make a new hail on their own accord following all the criteria.  Usually I think the 2nd boat would have to sail a bit closer to the dock before making a hail for themselves.  The first boat would be left to let out their sails and luff.
Created: 25-May-12 21:24
Bob Lewis
And what about rule 14 if the hailing boat then runs aground or hits the dock is the unresponsive 2nd boat violating rule 14 by causing contact with an object.  Personally I think not as the cause is the lack of rule knowledge by the first boat and/or their failure to slow down and let the other boats go by.
Created: 25-May-12 21:26
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • International Umpire
  • Club Race Officer
  • National Judge
I guess this means that I think the Q&A has problems and is not well thought out.  Unlike rules 18 and 19, there is nothing in rule 20 that says when the rule applies, it always applies.  The Q&A contradicts the plain language of the rule.  Consider that if a valid hail must be made for rule 20 to apply in its entirety then what is the purpose of rule 20.2(b)?

  • Rule 20.1 defines when you can hail for room to tack and what words need to be a part of the hail.  It does not say that the rest of the rule is contingent on a valid hail.
  • Rule 20.2 defines what the hailed boat must do.
  • Rule 20.3 allows a hail to be passed to another boat and removes the conditions of rule 20.1
  • Rule 20.4 adds addition conditions to rule 20.1  and actually should be merged with 20.1 for clarity. 

If you consider an invalid hail the equivalent of not making any hail at all as the Q&A suggests, if Blue makes an invalid hail to Yellow, then Yellow makes a valid hail to Green and then Green tacks and protests Yellow, should a PC decide that Yellow broke 20.1?  I think the answer is yes.  It is also the same answer that a PC should come up with if Yellow hails before Blue hails because until Blue hails Yellow cannot fall back on rule 20.3.

Using the logic from the Q&A, it is only a valid hail from Blue that allows Yellow to hail Green.  Without Blue, Yellow could not hail Green for room to tack because Green is fetching the mark.  If Yellow makes a valid hail then she breaks rule 20.1.  If Yellow makes an invalid hail then she doesn't break rule 20.1.  The validity of Blue's hail will determine whether Yellow broke a rule or maybe not.

Suppose Blue makes a valid hail to Yellow and Yellow makes an invalid hail and Green tacks and protests Yellow.  According to the Q&A, Yellow does not break rule 20.1.

Huh?  Try explaining all this to the sailors.

This is the truth table for my situation:

Blue's hail            Yellow's hail         Blue breaks 20.1 w.r.t Yellow        Yellow breaks 20.1 w.r.t. Green
Valid                       Valid                      No - rule 20.1                                   No - rule 20.3 removes fetching condition allowing a hail
Valid                       Invalid                   No - rule 20.1                                   No - Q&A answer 1
Invalid                    Valid                      No - Q&A answer 1                          Yes - rule 20.1 for Yellow combined with Q&A answer 1 for Blue
Invalid                    Invalid                   No - Q&A answer 1                          No - Q&A answer 1

All in all, this simply strengthens my personal feelings about rule 20.  Situation 2 of the Q&A is exactly what would happen if rule 20 didn't exist.  Fortunately, the Q&As are not binding.



Created: 25-May-12 23:08
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • International Umpire
  • Club Race Officer
  • National Judge
Additionally, you can dig deeper into the possibilities.  Rule 20.1 requires certain conditions to be met along with a valid hail.  Let's look at the combinations:

Boat's hail         Conditions of 20.1 met?     Breaks 20.1 w.r..t hailed boat
Valid                   Yes                                        No - rule 20.1 requirements met
Valid                   No                                         Yes - rule 20.1 requirements not met
Invalid                Yes                                        No - Q&A answer 1
Invalid                No                                         No - Q&A answer 1

Created: 25-May-12 23:27
Bob Lewis
I don’t know John, you might be making this too simple.  Where is the column: “Blue breaks rule 20.1 with respect to Green”? It seems to me that Case 113 makes Green a boat hailed by Blue if Green can hear the hail, so they will have to respond to Blue’s hail and Blue should be penalized.

I wouldn’t bet against the Q&A becoming a Case after reading the Aussie appeal with Richard Slater and his group of IJ’s and NJ’s on board.

I agree that rule 20 doesn’t really turn off but I think the interpretation is that everywhere you see “hail” after the first paragraph, you need to replace with “compliant hail”.  I think the rule writers were lazy and just assumed that since we had defined what the hail should be that’s what hail means for the rest of the rule.  Otherwise “lets go for beer” is a hail and they seem from the submission to want to stop that nonsense. 

From my observation, the rule works well for two boats but is mostly impossible for 3 or more.  In high speed radio sailing, passing on a hail and waiting for replies down the line is a joke idea.  You will see groups of boats tacking off and making room at the shore but it’s not from rule 20 hails beyond maybe the first one.  They do it out of gentlemanly behaviour.

When teaching this rule now, I think is will be simple “you will use these exact words or you will luff up, slow down and take a distance penalty”.

Oh and you asked the purpose of 20.2(b) – that’s for when the hail is worded correctly and becomes a “hail” but 20.1(a) or (b) are not satisfied.
They are rule breakers because the sentence says “shall not” … no “mays” here.

Created: 25-May-13 00:14
Phil Mostyn
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Judge
A classic of fixing a rule that ain't broke. What a mess............. and Q&A's are not "authoritive" anyway.

C'mon everyone, let's use common sense. This is a safety rule. SAFETY. If the hail does not conform with RRS 20.1, respond anyway as per RRS 20.2(b) and protest if you are so aggrieved. QED
Created: 25-May-13 06:11
Jim Champ
Agreed Phil. To me it seems a case of the cure being worse than the disease. Whilst a degree of confusion about whether it's a 20.1 hail or merely a warning that a 20.1 hail will follow is undesirable, it's an error on the safe side. An argument over whether an intended hail is valid or can be ignored is an error on the danger side. It's all very well saying “or you will luff up, slow down" but there are craft and conditions for which this is not an option and tacks must be made at full speed. 
Created: 25-May-13 06:30
Rüdiger Schuchardt
Certifications:
  • National Umpire
  • International Judge
Thank you Phil for your Statement. Yes, we are talking about a safety rule and even if the Words used are not correct by the book, but clear in the intention, room must be given. There is still the possibility to protest the calling boat later, safety first.
To avoid these Problems we had an Event call during the RC-Worlds two weeks ago in FRA making this point.
To the comments further up, ‘DSQ Yellow for a wrong hail’ let’s look what happens if requested words by the RRS are not used by a competitor. I guess the best example is the word ‘Protest’. Nobody will be penalized for not using Protest, in the worst case the protest is invalid and there are situations where even a protest without the word Protest can be valid.
Looking at RRS 20, not using the correct words can make the call invalid, so a boat might be penalized e. g. for breaking RRS 13 if she tacks but not for 20. If the boat hails a second time using the correct wording, Rule 20 applies from that moment.
So let’s follow Phil and use common sense.
Created: 25-May-13 15:15
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • International Umpire
  • Club Race Officer
  • National Judge
@Bob - Case 113 says that M must also hail W, but only AFTER L's hail for room to tack that may (or may not) have been heard by W.  And if M does not hail and cannot respond until W does then she breaks 20.2(c).  This is consistent with my analysis and really makes L's hail to W irrelevant.

@Phil - the problem is that when you protest and it is dismissed because of the Q&A then how do you explain that to the sailors?  The only way that the hailing boat breaks a rule is if they make a valid hail and the other conditions are not met.  Every other scenario results in no rule being broken.

Unless you are willing to bring rule 2 into play, a good strategy for the leeward boat is to make an early invalid hail for room, get the windward boat to tack away, and then continue on.  You can easily claim that your hail was only a warning that you would soon be making a valid hail for room and the windward boat misinterpreted the warning as an actual hail and tacked away on her own.  The Q&A says no rules broken and the windward boat has no recourse.  On the San Francisco City Front in a flood tide, the race is over for the boat that tacked first.  The windward boat's best strategy is to ignore everything that is not a valid hail and to tack when they are damn good and ready or hear a valid hail.  Not sure how this makes things safer.
Created: 25-May-13 18:46
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
John C, earlier in the thread you made the point that it was only that she was "hailed".   The new rule is stated as ... 

20.3 Passing On a Hail to an Additional Boat
When a boat has been hailed for room to tack and she intends to respond by tacking, she may hail another boat on the same tackfor room to tack and avoid her.

This is in context of ... 

20.1 Hailing
A boat may hail for room to tack and avoid a boat on the same tack by hailing ‘Room to tack’.

So the "hailed for room to tack" in 20.3 is defined clearly in 20.1 as the specific hail 'Room to tack'

However ... I don't think there is a problem here if M uses the magic words.....

The middle boat is either overlapped to windward or clear astern, so it is KC boat to L. 

  1. If M is close enough to L that she will need to avoid L before she reaches HTW, then L is an obstruction to both M and W.  
    1. M can make the determination that she will soon need to take action to avoid L and make the hail
  2. If M is far enough away that L will pass HTW but not complete her tack, she has new obligations under 14 to not cause contact between another boat and an object that should be avoided.  
    1. I'd maybe argue that L under 14(c) "combine" into an object that should be avoided, and thus M'e correct hail if again "OK"

So, in the end, I think M is fine as long as she says the magic words. 
Created: 25-May-15 11:09
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • International Umpire
  • Club Race Officer
  • National Judge
Ang - My thoughts...

  1. While L may eventually be an obstruction to both M and W, that, in and of itself, does not mean that either rules 19 or 20 are in play.  With respect to L, M and W do not met the requirements of 20.1(a), they are not "approaching an obstruction [L in this case] and will soon need to make a substantial course change to avoid it safely".  M cannot act based on an assumption of what L may or may not do and when she might do it.  If L's hail is invalid then M cannot hail W in anticipation of a hail by L as the Q&A tells us that is the equivalent of not making the hail at all.  So, until L makes a valid hail, M cannot use L's hail as a reason to hail W.  M must wait to hail W until she would have hailed in the absence of L.  If all L does is luff HTW, and does not break rule 16 in the process, then M can keep clear of L and a hail for room to tack to W is not appropriate.  L gets room to tack (go through HTW and come to a close-hauled course) and then do what she needs to do in a seamanlike way to avoid M.  If L never goes through HTW then she has not met her obligation under 20.2(d) after making the hail.

  2. I'm not sure how this changes anything.  If M responds immediately and L hits M, then L will break rule 14(a).  If M hits W attempting to avoid L, then, again, I think L has broken rule 14(c)

I don't think M's use of the magic words helps her at all in the situation I presented.  Until L also uses the magic words, M cannot hail.

This whole thing is a mess and is not made any better by the Q&A.

Created: 25-May-19 22:56
John Ball
Thanks for all this input on my original question about 20.3
Yellow hails "Water"


The consensus seems to be that after Yellow makes an improper hail, and in anticipating a problem, Green or Blue would break R20.3 by hailing the windward boat(s) for room to tack.

To me, this makes the Q&A in conflict with common sense safety.

John
Created: 25-May-19 23:22
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
John B .. I'm not conceding that point (yet) .. though I admit I'm introducing a novel argument to make my position.

John C states that ..

"M cannot act based on an assumption of what L may or may not do and when she might do it."

I disagree.  We as sailors are acting all the time based upon the assumption of what other boats may do and when they may do it.  It is at the heart of many of our obligations on the water.

  • If I owe a boat MR that is inside me, I act assuming that boat is going to round the mark on its proper-side and make sure I am leaving space for where I project that boat will be in the future.
  • If I am on port and I am on a collision course with starboard, I act based upon the assumption that starboard is not going to alter course and I plan to either duck her or tack away.

Here, if I'm M and I see L heading to the breakwater, it is fully reasonable for me to project that L is going to need room to tack away.

Next, I hear L call for room to tack without using the magic words.  Her intension and need is clearly communicated to me.  As M, I must not force L into the breakwater as described by 14(c).  L is a ROW boat that M and W must keep clear of by either 11 or 12.

That's the theory I'm taking out for a test drive.  As M, I can "use the magic words" to W and get  "room to tack" for myself.. which will provide L the space she needs and allows me to meet my 14(c) obligations.
Created: 25-May-19 23:49
Jim Champ
A thought, which I have by no means considered fully, is that we are not required to anticipate that another competitor will break a rule. Is there a corollary that we may be required to anticipate how a competitor must sail to complete the course without breaking a rule? 
Created: 25-May-20 05:38
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
John B re: " Is there a corollary that we may be required to anticipate how a competitor must sail to complete the course without breaking a rule?  "

I'd argue "YES" to that Q .. but your Q will be rephased in the answer I think.  Let's look at def: Room first:

Room
  The space a boat needs in the existing conditions, including space to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31, while maneuvering promptly in a seamanlike way.

So, when we give a boat room, we also need to give that boat "space to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31".  

Imagine I am heading to a leeward port-rounded mark, I am outside (O) and owe MR to both M and I.  M also owes MR to I.  I have to anticipate that these boats are going to round inside of me and I must sail in such a manner that I put my boat in a position such that M can also provide I Mark-room.  That's a requirement upon me, through my obligation to provide MR and room, for me to anticipate how a competitor might sail and the space she needs.

Back to the OP, L can't sail through the breakwater.  She has communicated to me that she needs to tack out of this situation.

L is an obstruction to both M and W and M will "will soon need to make a substantial course change to avoid it safely".  

So ... yes ... the logical corollary of 'not needing to anticipate that a boat will break a rule' is that we are constantly assuming (and projecting) that boats will sail within the rules and sail in a seamanlike way to gauge our rights and obligations and our resulting course and maneuvers. 

I'd be making this argument above to support the idea that M does not break any part of rule 20 if she uses the magic words.
Created: 25-May-20 10:45
John Christman
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • International Umpire
  • Club Race Officer
  • National Judge
John B - I agree with you (almost).  In your scenario, if Green needs to rely on 20.3 to make her hail valid, i.e. Green does not meet the requirements of 20.1 but 20.3 allows her to pass the hail along, then Green's hail is invalid and she breaks 20.1 (not 20.3).  In the absence of a valid hail from Yellow, Green cannot hail until she meets the requirements of 20.1 for hailing.

Ang - What rule requires one boat anticipate what another boat is going to do?  Any notion of that went away in 1997.  In fact, it is quite the opposite.  The only thing you can "anticipate" is that the right-of-way boat is going to hold her course.  You can't assume that she won't speed up or slow down, just that she won't change course.  And if she does change course, the obligations are all on her.  Consider two boats reaching down the starting line, one on port and one on starboard, heading at each other.  At the starting gun, prior to 1997, the starboard boat could change course to come up to close-hauled and the port boat would have to anticipant that she might do that, but the starboard boat was not obligated to do it.  The port tack boat was in a quandary as they didn't know how to avoid the starboard boat.  The same applies to boats coming together on a beat and and experiencing a wind shift.  This was one of the game changes the new rules introduced.

There is no rule that requires boat to round a mark on a proper course or any other course.  I'll concede that 18.4 comes close, but once the boat gybes the obligation goes away and she isn't actually required to round the mark, just gybe before sailing beyond her proper course to that point.

image.png 339 KB


Consider this situation.  The course after rounding the mark is to go downwind.  Blue simply continues to sail close hauled.  Yellow cannot bear off, anticipating that Blue will sail anything like a proper course and claim that she is entitled to because she gave Blue mark room.

A keep clear boat breaks a rule if they fail to keep clear, which allows a right-of-way boat to sail her [compass] course.  There is no rule in Part 2 Section A that mentions room at all.  Giving room in Section B is an obligation on the right-of-way boat.  Mark-room is an obligation on the outside boat, regardless of whether they are a right-of-way or keep clear boat.  How much room you are obligated to give is a judgement call and, yes, you have to make a judgement as to how much room you will need to give and plan accordingly or risk being found to not have given enough room.

The Q&A says that if L does not make a valid hail that is equivalent to no hail being made.  Whether M believes that L is going to need to hail soon or not, until she actually hails validly, M cannot use that as justification for her own hail.  If M's hail would be invalid in the absence of L's valid hail then M's hail is invalid because rule 20.3 does not apply as M is not passing on a hail.  Those are the words in the rule.

The Q&A just makes a bad rule worse.
Created: 25-May-20 17:27
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
John C re: "There is no rule that requires boat to round a mark on a proper course or any other course. "

I didn't say there was.  

What I did say is that part of being in a position to give mark room and to meet our other obligations on the water, a boat is anticipating what other boats will do, were they will be in the future and how much room or space a boat will need.  When we anticipate that room/space, we are told that we do not need to anticipate that a boat will break a rule, but logically we need to anticipate what a boat will likely do within the context of the rules. 

Think about it .. why call-out the exclusion of not having to anticipate a boat breaking a rule if one never has to anticipate anything?

We now come to M hearing a non-hail that is well understood and an imminent danger and her obligation under 14(c) to not force L into the breakwater.  L is ROW v M.  M concludes she will soon need to take avoiding action relative to L.

M hails W properly. 
M gets protested by W for improper hail.
The PC finds M's hail was valid.  
W appeals.

I'd like to read the appeal where the decision is overturned and they DSQ M in this circumstance.
Created: 25-May-21 00:25
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more