Forum: Rules 2 and 69

WS Misconduct Guidance - 69 & 2

Ben Fels
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • National Race Officer
World Sailing have released their Misconduct Guidance first edition. It's very comprehensive and written for everyone - Officials, Competitors and Support Persons can get a great understanding of how to handle these matters.
http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/2017WorldSailingMisconductGuidance-[22804].pdf

Created: 17-Jun-29 01:15

Comments

Bill Handley
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Certifications:
  • National Judge
0
I still have a problem on Rule 2 which I can't see answered by this very good and comprehensive document. My problem is that since 1/1/17 we have the choice of penalizing a breach of this rule either by DSQ or DNE - previously we only had the choice of DNE. Since the start of the year I have been trying to get a handle on when to use DNE and when to use DSQ and other than some rather vague idea that "it depends on the seriousness of the breach" I am none the wiser.

I have most frequently penalized a boat under this rule when in a protest hearing a boat admits that she knew she broke a rule but didn't take a penalty - usually on the basis that she thought she would get away with it. I would welcome opinions as to whether or not I should increase the DSQ for breaking the rule in question to DNE for also breaking rule 2. In the past there was no doubt that this should be done.
Created: 17-Jun-29 07:57
Paul Pascoe
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Umpire
  • International Judge
  • National Race Officer
1
I was at Kiel last week and we had a discussion on what people thought would constitute a DSQ or a DNE. With 22 Judges (probably 15 IJs and 7 NJs) in the room, the view was unanimous that almost any infringement of Rule 2 would be a DNE, and in particular the scenario that you mention in your post would be a DNE. We couldn't think of any situation where a DSQ would be appropriate, but obviously someone did to get this changed.

So our view was that any Rule 2 at the event would be DNE unless some exceptional circumstance arose, although none of us could articulate what this might be.


Created: 17-Jul-05 05:29
Bill Handley
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Certifications:
  • National Judge
0
Paul - thanks for this which very much confirms my own thoughts on the matter.
Created: 17-Jul-05 06:19
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more