Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Rule 16.2 at windward mark
Nationality: United States of America
I have a question on applying rule 16.2 at a windward mark rounding: Starboard tack boat (red) is approaching slightly below the layline, down-speed because it is pinching up to the layline. A Port tack boat (blue) is ducking close behind. The Starboard tack boat rounds up past close hauled to shoot the mark, which swings their stern outwards because they are down-speed. The Port tack boat bears away without contact, and protests the Starboard tack boat on rule 16.2, stating that they were keeping clear (Keep Clear) as there was not immediate contact, but that they had to alter course to avoid the Starboard boats stern and continue keeping clear. What should the call be?
Notes: Boat is the Vanguard 15. The diagram incorrectly shows a 2 boat length Zone, it should be the normal 3 lengths. The Starboard tack boat successfully rounded the windward mark. In the actual situation, blue had tacked inside the zone, having come in well below lay because of an earlier windshift, but I don't believe that would effect the ruling.
Created: 19-Jul-10 12:45
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual