The rules allow for "exoneration" under a number of circumstances, and it's quite sensible that rule 64.1 indicates that a protest committee should disqualify a boat only if it's not exonerated:
Rule 64.1: "When the protest committee decides that a boat that is a party to a protest hearing has broken a rule and is not exonerated, it shall disqualify her unless ..."
However, under "sportmanship and the rules" we just have:
"A fundamental principle of sportsmanship is that when competitors break a rule they will promptly take a penalty, which may be to retire."
It doesn't seem like sportsmanship requires boats to take a penalty in any of the circumstances where the rules allow for exoneration. It seems like everywhere else we should read "break a rule" literally as just "break a rule (even if exonerated)", whereas here we should read "break a rule" as something like "break a rule without being exonerated".
Am I wrong? If not, is there any support for my interpretation (in the rules themselves, not just common sense)? Any reason for this omission?