Forum: Match and Team Racing Rules

Penalty or not?

Stavros Kouris
Nationality: Greece
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Umpire
The situation is the following:
Boats are entering for a match race pre-start. Yellow at 3:55 before the start is at position 2, while blue is also at position 2.
At position 5, Yellow on starboard is on a collision course with blue which tacks without crossing the line from the course to side to the prestart side.
The boats continue sailing as shown in the diagram and at 2:59 before the start the are at position 12, where blue has just crossed the starting line from the pre start side to the course side.
Is that a penalty to blue according to RRS C4.2? If yes, the umpires have to display the flag at 2:59 or they have to wait until 2:00 before the start?
Created: 18-Oct-09 17:00

Comments

Luigi Bertini
Nationality: Italy
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • International Judge
  • National Umpire
  • International Umpire
  • National Race Officer
0
They can penalize at 02:59
Created: 18-Oct-09 18:30
Angelo Guarino
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
  • Fleet Measurer
0
Luigi, you used the word "can". Is there leeway for that timing or is as close to that moment of the penalty the goal of the umpires? - Ang
Created: 18-Oct-10 02:26
Loic Durand Raucher
Nationality: France
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Umpire
0
In my view, it is not the duty of the umpires to check the starting (or finishing) line.
As rule C3.1 says the RC shall display a flag at minus 2 minutes if a boat (or 2) failed to comply with C4.2

My understanding of C4.2 is that the first time a boat crosses the line from the course side must be within 2 minutes of the prep signal.
I would definitely wait for the RC signal before penalizing.

But I do understand Luigi's position. And would be happy to get more different advices.
Loïc
Created: 18-Oct-10 08:03
David Lees
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
1
Luigi must be right, although perhaps 'should' might be a better word than 'can'. Rule C4.2 requires that the first time the line is crossed it must be from the course side. It wasn't so C4.2 has been broken so the umpires need to penalise blue. I cannot see any need to wait for the two minute moment or for a call from the race officer in these circumstances.

David
Created: 18-Oct-10 08:49
Loic Durand Raucher
Nationality: France
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Umpire
0
Yellow was possibly early. But nothing is said about it in the facts.
So we have to assure she was not early.
In french, we say: with if(s), you could put Paris in a bottle !!
Created: 18-Oct-10 11:53
Angelo Guarino
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
  • Fleet Measurer
0
Loic said ..

My understanding of C4.2 is that the first time a boat crosses the line from the course side must be within 2 minutes of the prep signal. I would definitely wait for the RC signal before penalizing.


I am likely displaying my inexperience with Match Race Umpiring here, but how I read the rule is that the first time the boat crosses the line it has 2 conditions, (1) within 2 min of the prep-signal and (2) from course-to-start side. If that's the correct reading, then the error of crossing first from start-to-course side isn't reversible. Do I have that correct?

C4.2 Within the two-minute period following her preparatory signal, a boat shall cross and clear the starting line, the first time from the course side to the pre-start side.

Created: 18-Oct-10 12:17
[You must be signed in to add a comment]