I had an interesting discussion surrounding this scenario below (This IS NOT the subject of any actual protest)
. The boats were coming in under spinnaker into a leeward gate, but the spins made the picture too crowded so I don't have them shown.
Conditions: 6-8kts, slight chop.
Scenario #2 mod: At position #4, put Green 1/2 boat width further away from Pink. Does that change the ruling?
- Yellow enters the zone clear ahead of Pink and Green.
- Pink and Green are overlapped when Green enters the zone
- Yellow drops her spin at #1 and slows considerably
- Green and Pink drop their spins between #2 and #3 and carry more speed into the mark than Yellow, who is very slow as she starts to round at position #4
- As Yellow rounds the mark, her stern swings out directly in front of Pink at position #4, putting Pink on a collision course with Yellow's stern and external rudder
- At position #4, Pink turns abruptly to avoid Yellow and hits Green firmly just forward of midship, there is no damage or injury.
No protest was made. (two items below added after original post)
- Pink protests Green under 18 and Green protests Pink under 16.