Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Rule 18.2 or Rule 10 at a Gate?
Nationality: United States
The attached image and title are at the heart of the question here. At a leeward gate mark (asymmetrical sails), yellow boat (Y) clear ahead enters the zone for mark 1 on starboard, gybes onto port to round the left gate. The blue boat clear astern (B) is now on starboard but gybes to avoid Y and ends up rounding the mark inside despite Y's hails of no room. Y then rounds up to head to wind to make a point, makes contact with B, then bears away and sails her proper course. Ignoring what seems to be a violation of R14, who would win if this scenario went to the room? Does the situation change if B is attempting to round gate mark 2 or 1?
Created: 23-Nov-13 12:46
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2021-2024
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual