Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

Rule 40 - Y flag

Christopher Dees
Nationality: United States of America
What is the penalty for violation of RRS 40? DSQ, Scoring Penalty, nothing? How does one exonerate themselves if possible?
Who can or cannot protest?

40
PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES
When flag Y is displayed with one sound before or with the warning signal, competitors shall wear personal flotation devices, except briefly while changing or adjusting clothing or personal equipment. When flag Y is displayed ashore, this rule applies at all times while afloat. ´╗┐Wet suits and dry suits are not personal flotation devices.

Thanks
Created: 18-Aug-06 18:00

Comments

Loic Durand Raucher
Nationality: France
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Umpire
0
Rule 40 is a rule.
Rule 60.1 says: a boat may protest another boat ...
Rule 60.2 says: a race committee may protest a boat ....
Rule 60.3 says: a protest committee may protest a boat ...
Rule 60.4 says: a technical committee may protest a boat .... However, it shall protest a boat if it decides taht a boat has broken a rule of part 4 (rule 40 is in part 4)

Rule 64.1 says: When the protest committee decides taht a boat that is a party to a protest hearing has broken a rule and is not exonerated, it sh
Created: 18-Aug-06 18:35
Loic Durand Raucher
Nationality: France
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Umpire
0
Rule 64.1 says: When the protest committee decides that a boat that is a party to a protest hearing has broken a rule and is not exonerated, it shall disqualify her unless some other penalty applies.

It often happens that the SI state: for a breach of a rule other than part 2 and RRS 31, the penalty may be less than DSQ, if the protest committee so decides.
It will then be a DPI
Created: 18-Aug-06 18:39
John Christman
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • National Umpire
  • Regional Race Officer
0
Some quick answers:
Per RRS 64.1, the penalty is DSQ unless another penalty applies as described in NOR/SIs/Class rules etc.
You can't unbreak the rule, but you can stop breaking it, so you can't exonerate yourself.
Per RRS 60, a boat, RC, PC, and TC can all protest. It looks like the TC is actually required to protest.
Created: 18-Aug-06 18:39
Baptiste Verniest
Nationality: France
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • Regional Umpire
  • Regional Race Officer
0
Hi Chris, I agree with the above:
- boats, RC, TC, PC can protest a boat under rule 40
- penalty is DSQ unless SIs (or another document) states that the PC may give less. But no obligation
- exonerations are only in rules 14, 21 and 64. So the only way I see to exonerate a boat is that she was compelled to break rule 40 - AHEM. As to taking a penalty as per rule 44, it is an option only available to breaches of the rules of Part 2 and rule 31, hence not applicable here
Created: 18-Aug-06 20:20
[You must be signed in to add a comment]