Capsize in the zone and some questions....
- National Judge
- National Umpire
Created: 18-Aug-06 06:41
The situation is the following:
The course is W-L with a small reach to the finish line.
Boat A enters the zone of the leeward mark (leg 4) clear ahead of boat B which is 4 boat lengths behind. Boat A capsizes to leeward in the zone when at the mark.
While capsized A starts drifting away from the mark opening a space between her and the mark. Boat B take this opening to round the mark.
When boat A regain control after the capsize is 2 1/2 - 3 meters away and to leeward from the mark (still in the zone) and the mark is at a line aiming the middle of the boat, while boat B is overlapped to windward 30 - 40 cm.
The direction of the next mark is a reach to finish line
If boat A in her attempt to turn the boat around causes her bow to pass head to wind does 18.2(b) and (c) cease to apply? If the bow passes head to wind while capsized?
Question no. 2
While boat A is capsized and until she regained control, B shall avoid her if possible according to 23. Is boat A still required to give her mark - room? When her entitlement to mark - room finishes? The boat drifted away from the mark while capsized and when she regains control she can sail a straight line to the finish. Is she been given enough room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course?
Question no. 3
When 23 apply between boats A and B, the rules of section A do not apply according to the preamble to Section D. The moment Boat A regain control then the rules of Section A start to re-apply. What was the condition between the boats before(RoW - Keep clear)? When boat A regains control of her boat and has the Row as leeward boat is she initially required to give room to A to keep clear as required by 15, or not because she was the RoW boat before the capsize and therefore she does not acquire the right of way?
Thank you for your comments....