Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Is this a starting mark ?
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
The starting line for a race is set out in the SIs as being a line projected from two transit poles on the shore. The SIs go on to say that boats must pass between an Inner Distance Mark and Outer Distance Mark when starting and that these marks may not necessarily be on the starting line.
Due to tide the IDM at the start of the race is two boat lengths on the course side of the start line. My questions are -
Is the IDM still a starting mark and if so how far up course would it have to drift before it ceased to be one ?
If the IDM is no longer a starting mark the the exclusions in preamble to Sect C no longer apply so presumably rule 18 would apply and boats could claim mark room on that mark, is that correct ? - alternatively
As a boat will have cleared the starting line when her bow is one boat length from it she will not be "starting" when she arrives at the mark so is the SI irrelevant and can the mark be left on either side as stated in 28.1?
Created: 18-Jul-02 09:59
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.