Appendix A.5 states .... a boat that did not come to the starting area shall be scored points for the finishing place one more than the number of boats entered in the series.
I cannot find a definition of "entered" in the rules. It is not uncommon for someone to sign up for a club racing series and not make a single race or perhaps not finish a single race. So what number should be used for a DNS or DNF? Boats that sailed at least one race? Boats that qualified to be scored? Boats that submitted an entry form and paid fees regardless of participation?
PS: Peter submitted a Q&A for this issue: https://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/QA2021.003-.pdf
Which should lead us to ensure that NORs express specific, unambiguous requirements for entry and differentiate them from other requirements. For example, sail measurement or declaration prior to racing may be a requirement for the competition, but is it a requirement for entry?
If I recall correctly most of the controversy in the previous thread revolved around how to treat a boat that had not completed all of the entry requirements but was allowed to race anyway.
This thread agrees with my guess that any boat that meets the entry qualifications (entry form, fees paid, PHRF submitted) should be counted in the total entered with respect to DNS/DNF whether they sailed any race or not.
But any boat that has not completed all of the entry requirements should not be included, even if the OA allowed them to sail and the RC gave them finishing positions. I believe this would be an error by the RC, and a boat disadvantaged (either because unentered boats finished ahead of her or she was awarded a larger scoring penalty) would have cause for redress.
IN any case, rule 1 is to have a clear rule and to disclose it to the entrants.
For a long series, such as a club series, things happen. One ski weekend or sick child should not, perhaps, completely knock you out of the running. More throwouts is another way to go.
Online scoring portals typically will provide a "scratch sheet" .. and at the top of that it will be titled "List of Entries" .. or maybe even call it LOE throughout the interface. I think this can cause confusion.
It would be much better for websites, portals, etc to call it a "List of Registrants" or keep "Scratch Sheet", if what the list represents are the names of boats that have completed the initial online-registration process. This would take away the argument that a boat might have that by listing them in something called "List of Entries" that this was providing confirmation that the boat was properly entered in the event.
Other requirements for competition (handicap certificate, sail measurement, etc) would still be subject to protest.
I thought of using some thing like "come to the starting area in at least one race in a series" as a requirement for entry?
In the past we used "Boats that did not come to the starting area will be scored for the finishing place one more than the largest number of boats who came to the starting area in any one race in the series."
May I have your opinion on the following situations?
a boat do not comply with entry, and the OA regurarly posted the reasons why she is not part of the game, before the first race.
But she raced anyway, somehow hindering/disturbing other boats. No damages.
PC want to protest the boat, say, for a 69.1 h 1, and/or boats protesting for hindering or for an infraction to a RRS part 2.
Not being in the race, can she be called to an hearing? Is she subject to RRSS 23.1? In which way she might be penaized ? Can apply 64.2 ....If a boat has broken a rule when not racing, her penalty shall apply to the race sailed nearest in time to that of the incident... and how?
event with 3 races, 3 boats, A, B & C entered regularly
First day A: 2nd, B 3rd, C 1st.
on 2nd day, C realizes her borrowed sails were not complying with her certificate, so she retired.
So first day scores changes to A 1st, B 2nd C RET
second races : A 1st, B 2nd, C RET
third race : A DSQ, B 1st, C RET
final scores A = 1 + 1 + 4 = 6 points; B = 2 + 2 +1 = 5; C 4+4+4 = 12 points
C = 3rd places.
OA refuses to prize third places, pretending C to be "eliminated" from the entry.
In my opinion, she complied with the entry; the boat can be penalized by scores only, if there were only three boats in her class, is not her fault..
Plus, another issue: by "eliminating" C from the entry, DSQ = 3 points, so final scores would became:
A = 1 + 1 + 3 = 5 points; B2 + 2 + 1 = 5 points
What would be your decision?
Look that over … as I did it on the fly. You can tailor it as you like. For instance I’ve seen Finishers +1 and +2 instead of using starters as well. - Ang