Forum: Rule 18 and Room at the Mark

Room where both have to tack to round windwd mark

Peter Jackson
Nationality: United Kingdom
A is the leeward boat overlapped with B on entering the circle on a beat, both on starboard. The wind heads (or not?) so neither boat quite lays the mark on starboard. Both tack onto port 1 length from the mark. A's overlap is broken but he's tight on B's port quarter. Q1. Does A retain the right to water? Q2. If B tacks onto starboard to round the buoy does he need to give A warning & time to respond (including water to also tack round the mark or to sharply bear away)?   (I find nothing suggesting A loses his right to water just because both tack).
Created: 22-Sep-28 18:09

Comments

Charles Darley
Nationality: United Kingdom
Certifications:
  • Regional Umpire
0
18.2b is turned off when A tacks. A loses her right to mark room whilst B is clear ahead. B does not have mark room. If A becomes overlapped inside (likely if B luffs to tack). 18.2a turns on and A has mark room including room to tack. If B tacks to round the mark she is constrained by 13 and 15
Created: 22-Sep-28 18:35
Charles Darley
Nationality: United Kingdom
Certifications:
  • Regional Umpire
0
Remember 18,2f of course. 
Created: 22-Sep-28 18:39
Reinhard Schanda
Nationality: Austria
Certifications:
  • National Judge
0
Def. Mark-Room: "However, mark-room for a boat does not include room to tack unless she is overlapped inside and to windward of the boat required to give mark-room and she would be fetching the mark after her tack."
Created: 22-Sep-28 18:51
Tim Hohmann
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
0
Once they're in the zone 18 switches off at any time that the boats are on opposite tacks (keeping in mind that a boat is on the new tack as soon as she passes HTW even if she's still tacking until she gets to a close-hauled course). But it switches back on as soon as the other boat passes HTW and they're back on same tack. If they're overlapped at that point inside is entitled to mark-room.
Created: 22-Sep-28 19:53
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more