Note: This forum is not affiliated with World Sailing and comments on this forum do not represent an official interpretation of the rules, definitions, cases or regulations. The only official interpretations are those of World Sailing.
Port Laylines with a tack in the zone.
Nationality: United States
Happened in club race.
Windward Mark. 1. G enters zone first on Stb, below layline. Y enters after on port. 2. G tacks in front of Y, and completes tack. 2.5. Y, with significantly more speed chooses to go above G (but does not pass head to wind). 3. Y attempts to take mark room. G calls Leeward. There isn't enough room for Y to pass between G and the mark. Y chooses to hit mark to avoid contact with G. 4. Y rounds mark, calls protest, and continues sailing without doing penalty turn.
I think that Y has rights as inside boat under 18.2a, and should be exonerated for hitting the mark, but general consensus was that Y poked their nose where it didn't belong. Thoughts?
Created: 22-Aug-18 10:48
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2021-2024
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual