Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

IOM RC Sailing - Mark Room

Phil Burgess
Nationality: Australia
Would appreciate your views on this rounding....
https://youtu.be/FjG1fdM7sTw
My view is that when 51 turned down to the mark (18 second on video) outside 4 boat lengths (RC Rules allow 4 lengths - not 3), 15 had established an overlap as the angle across 51’s transom shows 15 ahead of the line. 15 maintained the overlap at all times until the mark, so 51 should have provided mark room.
Created: 22-Jan-24 20:42

Comments

P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • Regional Race Officer
0
Is this a start?

If so there is no entitlement to mark-room (Preamble to Section C)

Edit:  ok, sorry looking at the wrong video.
Created: 22-Jan-24 21:09
Thomas Armstrong
Nationality: Chile
Certifications:
  • Club Judge
1
That is not a start - just a mark rounding - in my view this is 15 had mark room rights so 51 should be DSQ. 

Created: 22-Jan-24 21:19
Jeff Silverman
Nationality: United States of America
1
From the moment that 51 did her last gybe, 15 was inside overlapped and had rights.
Created: 22-Jan-24 22:04
Mike Fering
Nationality: United States of America
0
And also broke Rule 14. DSQ.
Created: 22-Jan-24 22:12
Ant Davey
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • International Judge
  • Umpire In Training
0
Agree with Phil and Jeff.  When 51 gybes there was an overlap (last point of certainty).  I cannot be certain that the overlap was broken, but when 15 also gybed there was definitely an overlap.  This supports the inference that the overlap wasn't broken.
Created: 22-Jan-24 22:35
Phil Burgess
Nationality: Australia
0
Thank you gentlemen. Confirmed my thoughts. Will be used as an education piece at our next meet.
Created: 22-Jan-24 22:56
Murray Cummings
Nationality: New Zealand
0
Hi Phil,
I would agree that 51 was outside the 4 BL zone when 15 became overlapped inside, and 15 is entitled to mark room.  In these conditions, I would expect the boats to be covering a little more than 1 boat length per second (ie >1m/s) and from the moment of overlap, it took them at least 4 seconds to reach the mark.
  
Created: 22-Jan-25 01:24
Jerry Thompson
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • Umpire In Training
  • Regional Race Officer
2
Is that a Duck?  The leeward mark?  I've seen several mark shapes  - cylinders, tetrahedrons, tomatoes, hippity-hops.  That is my first duck.
Created: 22-Jan-25 02:06
Russell Harding
Nationality: Australia
2
Yes that is a Duck we have been using it for a few years and have just recently add a bear .We sail for fun not sheep Stations
Duck-bear.jpeg 465 KB
Created: 22-Jan-25 06:58
Gijs Vlas
Nationality: Netherlands
0
Classic example of a competitor wanting to go wide around the mark and another one on the shorter route inside. Once you gybe you create an overlap all the way to China ! Hence the inside boat has Mark-Room rights as long as the overlap was established outside the zone! Which is clearly the case.  Nice RC racing by the way ! Lovely Marks !
Created: 22-Jan-25 07:26
Jeff Silverman
Nationality: United States of America
0
The red line is 51's transom extended out.  15 is clearly inside of 51 and has rights.

Also, just before 51 called for room, she gybed onto port inside of the 4 BL circle, so she would have fouled 15 had she continued to head up to try to close the door.


image.png 3.21 MB
Created: 22-Jan-25 14:21
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more