Forum: The Racing Rules of Sailing

When opposite tack boats arrive at a Starboard rounding windward mark

Oliver Dumbelton
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
When opposite tack fleet racing boats arrive at a Starboard rounding windward mark (and are inside three boat lengths), the boat on starboard has right of way (rule 10) and the port boat has to give the other room (rule 18.2), but does the starboard tack boat have to tack to sail a proper course around the mark or can she choose to sail beyond the proper course (I.e. not tack onto port) to force the approaching port boat to tack?
Created: 21-Nov-28 01:51

Comments

Mark Townsend
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • International Race Officer
  • International Umpire
  • International Judge
6
Rule 10 applies. Rule 18 does not apply as both rule 18.1(a) and rule 18.1(b) apply The two boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward (see Case 132). Also the proper course for starboard but not port, is to tack. 
If starboard chooses to hold her course, port must keep clear. There is no rule that requires a boat to sail her proper course.
Created: 21-Nov-28 02:26
Peter Mcfarlane
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
0
Surely as soon as it passes head to wind the starboard boat loses its  rights, and if the port track boat then has to take action to avoid a collision or if a collision actually does occur then the tacking boat should lose the protest. When I'm in this situation I shout "hold your course" and spill wind to slow down (as ducking underneath would hit the mark), but sheet in again to miss the stern of the starboard boat. If the boat tacks regardless I protest. 

Created: 21-Nov-28 08:03
Gordon Davies
Nationality: Ireland
Certifications:
  • International Judge
1
While S is on starboard she is RoW boat and can stand on.
When S passes head to wind she is now on port. Both boats are on the same tack in the zone so rule 18 applies:
- as the mark has to be left to starboard rule 18.3 does not apply.
- rule 18.2(b) does not apply.
- as S turns from head to wind to close-hauled if she is overlapped inside P then rule 18.2(a) applies. P must give mark-room, and S would be exonerated for any breach of rule 13.
- if S is not, or ceases to be, overlapped inside P then rule 18.2(a) doas not apply and the rules of section A and B will apply.
- while S is entitled to mark room she must still avoid contact (see 43.1(c)
Created: 21-Nov-28 11:19
Ólafur Bjarnason
Nationality: Iceland
Certifications:
  • Regional Umpire
1
"While S is on starboard she is RoW boat and can stand on"(Gordon Davies)  See case 9
9
Created: 21-Nov-28 12:19
Oliver Dumbelton
Nationality: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
0
Thanks everyone for the responses - you have confirmed what I thought was correct. 
Created: 21-Nov-28 12:32
Tim Hohmann
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Club Judge
0
If/when S decides to tack, as soon as she starts to alter she owes P room to keep clear, until S gets to HTW and cedes ROW.

Forcing P to tack and sailing her well past the mark is fairly common in match racing, especially if S is carrying a penalty and would like to create an opportunity to shed it. Less common in fleet racing where S might lose advantage to other boats in the fleet while engaging with P. 
Created: 21-Nov-28 16:23
John Christman
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Club Race Officer
  • National Judge
  • National Umpire
0
Tim - match racing has a much different rule 18.  S would break 18.3 (see C2.9) if she forced P to tack.
Created: 21-Nov-28 17:29
P
Angelo Guarino
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
  • Fleet Measurer
1
John C .. re: "S would break 18.3 (see C2.9) if she forced P to tack."

Just for my own i-dotting and t-crossing on that statement.. 

In MR:

  1. 18 can apply to boats on opposite tacks on a beat, as Fleet Racing's 18.1(a)(b) do not exist
  2. Because 18 can apply to boats on opposite tacks on a beat, by applying "Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap" (unchanged between MR/FR), in MR boats can be overlapped on opposite tacks on a beat inside the zone as long at 18 applies between them.
  3. Therefore, MR's 18.3 can apply to boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward because they can be overlapped.  MR's 18.3:  "When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must change tack at a mark to sail her proper course, ..."
Created: 21-Nov-30 16:57
John Christman
Nationality: United States of America
Certifications:
  • Club Race Officer
  • National Judge
  • National Umpire
0
Angelo - spot on.
Created: 21-Nov-30 17:05
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more