Translation missing: en.posts.shared.post_not_found

Powered by
WIND


Recent Posts

Recent Comments

  • see below.
    RYA 2001/2

    Rule 2,  Fair Sailing
    Rule 60.3(b),  Protests: Delivering a Protest

    When a boat believes that she may have broken a rule and retires in compliance with the Basic Principle, she may revoke her retirement within protest or declaration time if she later realises that she did not in fact break a rule.
    However, if she is not acting in good faith, she breaks rule 2, Fair Sailing.
    ASSUMED FACTS

    Boat A lodged a protest against boats B and C for sailing the wrong course. Boat B did not believe she had done so, but ‘did the sportsmanlike thing’ and retired. Boat C did not retire. Within protest time, boat A checked her facts with the race committee, and found that her protest was unjustified. She withdrew her protest against boat C.

    QUESTION

    Was boat B then entitled to ‘unretire’?

    ANSWER

    The rules are silent with regard to ‘unretiring’. When a boat retires in compliance with rule 44.1, Penalties at the Time of an Incident: Taking a Penalty, for having gained a significant advantage or causing serious damage in the act of touching a mark or breaking a rule of Part 2, that is irrevocable.

    When a boat retires for some other reason, as in this case, and has indicated her retirement either to the race committee or to another boat, she may reverse this decision before the end of protest time or declaration time, whichever is earlier, provided that she has not broken any other rule in the meantime. For instance, retiring during a race, using her engine, and then resuming racing would preclude ‘unretirement’.

    However, if she has no good reason to ‘unretire’, she breaks rule 2, Fair Sailing, and the protest committee should, if necessary, extend the protest time limit for any boats that did not proceed with a protest against her because of her initial retirement.

    Question from Royal Southampton YC
    Today 11:36
  • John .. thanks for your POV. No "concern" here on my part .. just a want of understanding. 
    Thu 14:31
  • I still ponder this thought experiment from time to time....

    One way to achieve much of what I'm trying to achieve is to have some way of declaring a mark to be an obstruction at which rule 19 applies.  Currently this can be done if the mark is a continuing obstruction, but I think inflating buoys that are 3 boat lengths long might be a bit tiresome!

    Anyway, rule 19 is pretty good... other than the way it is written.   If I could somehow get boats to race twilight fleets where 19.2(b) always applied at every mark, then I think the fleet could remember that and would sail safer.





    Thu 08:52
  • "Shortening the course" is an important reason to understand the difference between passing and rounding marks too.

    With all this discussion of passing and rounding marks, I want to highlight one of the important aspects of rounding marks.  Rounding marks are one of the few places that an RC can shorten a course and finish.  For instance, looking again at US103, since the SI's did not identify any of the marks as rounding marks, it would have been an error if the RC shortened or changed the course at any of the marks. 

    This is important as sometimes you can have marks designated as rounding marks that the string touches but does not "wrap" around it.  In those instances, depending upon the wind direction, the lay lines may be such that a boat may decide for strategic/tactical reasons to sail a course that does not bring them close to the mark (staying close to shore out of current for instance).  Boats that do that run the risk that the RC might finish at that mark.

    Therefore even though an advantageous layline may not take you close to the mark, it's a good idea, if there is any chance the race would be shortened, to sail at least close enough to all rounding marks so that you can see if an RC boat is there ready to finish. 

    32.2 To shorten the course, the race committee shall display flag S with two sounds before the first boat crosses the finishing line. If the course is shortened, the finishing line shall be,

    (a) at a rounding mark, between the mark and a staff displaying flag S;
    (b) a line the course requires boats to cross; or
    (c) at a gate, between the gate marks.
    Tue 15:36
  • Done.
    25-Nov-19 01:17

Forums Leader Board

This Month

1 Michael Butterfield 200
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more