Translation missing: en.posts.shared.post_not_found

Powered by
WIND


Recent Posts

Recent Comments

  • additional facts can be drawn from agreed diagrams.

    Today 16:02
  • The change of direction to finish may be due to the nature of Case 82. If the SI's clearly write this, then there is no questions or arguments.
    Kim
    Yesterday 02:44
  • see below.
    RYA 2001/2

    Rule 2,  Fair Sailing
    Rule 60.3(b),  Protests: Delivering a Protest

    When a boat believes that she may have broken a rule and retires in compliance with the Basic Principle, she may revoke her retirement within protest or declaration time if she later realises that she did not in fact break a rule.
    However, if she is not acting in good faith, she breaks rule 2, Fair Sailing.
    ASSUMED FACTS

    Boat A lodged a protest against boats B and C for sailing the wrong course. Boat B did not believe she had done so, but ‘did the sportsmanlike thing’ and retired. Boat C did not retire. Within protest time, boat A checked her facts with the race committee, and found that her protest was unjustified. She withdrew her protest against boat C.

    QUESTION

    Was boat B then entitled to ‘unretire’?

    ANSWER

    The rules are silent with regard to ‘unretiring’. When a boat retires in compliance with rule 44.1, Penalties at the Time of an Incident: Taking a Penalty, for having gained a significant advantage or causing serious damage in the act of touching a mark or breaking a rule of Part 2, that is irrevocable.

    When a boat retires for some other reason, as in this case, and has indicated her retirement either to the race committee or to another boat, she may reverse this decision before the end of protest time or declaration time, whichever is earlier, provided that she has not broken any other rule in the meantime. For instance, retiring during a race, using her engine, and then resuming racing would preclude ‘unretirement’.

    However, if she has no good reason to ‘unretire’, she breaks rule 2, Fair Sailing, and the protest committee should, if necessary, extend the protest time limit for any boats that did not proceed with a protest against her because of her initial retirement.

    Question from Royal Southampton YC
  • John .. thanks for your POV. No "concern" here on my part .. just a want of understanding. 
    25-Nov-27 14:31
  • I still ponder this thought experiment from time to time....

    One way to achieve much of what I'm trying to achieve is to have some way of declaring a mark to be an obstruction at which rule 19 applies.  Currently this can be done if the mark is a continuing obstruction, but I think inflating buoys that are 3 boat lengths long might be a bit tiresome!

    Anyway, rule 19 is pretty good... other than the way it is written.   If I could somehow get boats to race twilight fleets where 19.2(b) always applied at every mark, then I think the fleet could remember that and would sail safer.





    25-Nov-27 08:52

Forums Leader Board

This Month

1 Michael Moradzadeh 2K
2 Eric Rimkus 1.8K
3 Jerry Thompson 1K
4 Matt Sargent 600
5 Paul Evenden 400
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more