Boats A, B and C are racing with others. After an incident between A and B, boat A hails "Protest" and displays her protest flag, but boat B does not take a penalty. Later, B protests a third boat, C, after a second incident. The protest committee hears A's protest against B and disqualifies B.
Does this disqualification invalidate B's protest against C?
No. When a boat continues to race after an alleged breach of a rule, her rights and obligations under the rules do not change. Consequently, even though A's protest against B is upheld, the protest committee must hear B's protest against C and, if B's protest is valid and the protest committee is satisfied from the evidence that C broke a rule, she must be disqualified.