In each of the four illustrated situations, a boat touches a rounding mark that she is required to leave to port and then makes a turn that includes one tack and one gybe.
In each situation, does the boat take a One-Turn Penalty that complies with rule 44
and with rule 28.2
When a boat breaks rule 31
, her penalty is usually a One-Turn Penalty. However, if, by touching the mark, she causes injury or serious damage or gains a significant advantage in the race or series, her penalty is to retire (see rule 44.1
In each illustrated situation she takes a One-Turn Penalty that complies with rule 44.2
, provided that
- as soon as possible, and before beginning her penalty turn, she sails well clear of any other boats;
- when she begins her penalty turn she is no longer touching the mark; and
- she makes her penalty turn promptly after she is clear of other boats. Rule 44.2 does not require a boat that takes a One-Turn Penalty to complete a full 360° turn, or a turn of any particular number of degrees, and it does not prohibit taking the penalty while making another manoeuvre, such as rounding the mark.
All four illustrated turns comply with rule 28.2
. Provided that the string representing the boat's track when drawn taut lies on the mark's required side, the boat would comply with rule 28.2
even if (as not illustrated) a penalty turn resulted in the boat making an extra 360° turn around the mark.