Boat B is required to keep clear of Boat A. However, B collides with A, turning A 180 degrees before she is able to continue sailing to the next mark. A loses five finishing places because of the incident. She protests B and requests redress under rule 62.1
(b). During the hearing, it is established that there was physical damage to A but that the damage itself did not affect her ability to proceed in the race at normal speed. A's protest is upheld and B is disqualified.
Is A entitled to redress?
No. Under rule 62.1
(b), the damage itself must be the reason a boat's score is made significantly worse. In this case the damage had no effect on A's score.
Must contact between the boats occur in order for redress to be granted under rule 62.1
No. A boat that suffers injury to a member of her crew or physical damage while acting to avoid contact with a boat that has broken a rule of Part 2 may be entitled to redress if the injury or damage is found to have made her score significantly worse and was not her fault. See also Case 135
If there had been no collision because A had been able to avoid B by changing course 180 degrees, but A lost five places as a result, would she have suffered “injury” or “damage” as those terms are used in rule 62.1
No. "Injury" in the racing rules refers only to bodily injury to a person, and “damage” is limited to physical damage to a boat or her equipment.
USA 1996/73 and 2007/98