Q&A 2013-022
Rule E4.3(b), Taking a Penalty
Rule E4.3 changes rule 44 in that a single penalty turn may not exonerate a boat because of the advantage gained.
Situation
Radio Sailing under Appendix E.

Question
When a boat has gained a significant advantage in a race or heat after taking a One-Turn Penalty in accordance with rule 44.2, will a single additional One-Turn Penalty under rule E4.3(b) exonerate the boat irrespective of the 'size' of the advantage gained?

Answer
No. The first part of rule E4.3(b) states 'if the boat gained a significant advantage .…. by her breach despite taking a penalty'. This condition must be applied after each One-Turn Penalty taken. If, after taking a One-Turn Penalty, the boat has still gained a significant advantage as a result of her breach, another One-Turn Penalty is required before she is exonerated.

Therefore, it is possible that a boat will need to complete multiple turns in order to exonerate herself from a breach of a rule of Part 2 or rule 31 if she had gained a significant advantage by her breach.
However, some breaches through which a boat gained a significant advantage cannot be exonerated by turns. Under rule E4.3(c), when a boat causes serious damage or, by breaking a rule of Part 2 she causes another boat to become disabled (as defined in rule E1.1) and retire, her penalty shall be to retire.

Rule E4.3 applies to all radio sailing racing, not only to umpired races.
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more