Situation Blue passed head to wind, from port to starboard tack, in the zone of a mark to be left to port, and was then fetching the mark. After completing her tack, Blue was clear ahead of Yellow and there was enough room for Yellow to either luff or bear away in a seamanlike way without any contact. Yellow didn’t change her course and after position 3 there was contact between her bow and Blue’s stern without damage or injury. Yellow was protested and was disqualified for breaking rules 12 and 14. Question Did Blue break rule 18.3?
Answer No. Blue did not cause Yellow to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact and Yellow did not become overlapped inside Blue. Therefore Blue did not break rule 18.3. No other parts of rule 18 apply to the situation.
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2013-2016; Version 6
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2017-2020
Racing Rules of Sailing for 2021-2024
Great Britain - RYA has declined to grant a license for prescriptions and cases.
World Sailing Cases
World Sailing Q&As
Match Race Calls
Match Race Rapid Response Calls
Team Race Calls
Team Race Rapid Response Calls
World Sailing Judges Manual